## CANADIAN HISTORY NOTES.

Commons is the presiding officer. He is elected by the Commons from among themselves, and votes only when tiere is a tie.

he Federal Government has control of

(a) Customs and Excise.

(b) Militia and Defence.

(c) Post Offices.

d) Penitentiaries.

(e) Ameri- ing of Lieutenant - Governors, Judges and . ators.

() power to veto Provincial Legislation considered rtful to the Dominion.

## **II. PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENT.**

2. The Provincial Governments consist of three or of four parts:

(1) Lieutenant-Governor, appointed for five years by the Governor-General-in-Council.

composed of members of (2) The Cabinet or Ministe either House. It must have the support of the Assembly.

(3) The Legislative Council, appointed for life by the Lieutenant-Governor-in-Council.

(4) The Legislative Assembly, elected for four years by the people.

Ontario, Manitoba, British Columbia and New Brunswick have no Legislative Council, and the Legislative Council of Prince Edward is elective.

The Provincial Governments have control of

(a) Education.

(b) Crown Lands.

(c) The appointment of all Officers of Courts of Justice, except Judges.

(d) The Enforcing of all Laws.

(e) Control of Jails and Asylums.

(f) Regulation of the Sale of Liquor.

(g) Control of Municipal Institutions.

The debts of the various provinces were assumed by the Dominion, and a certain yearly revenue is granted to each province according to population. Each province may raise money by direct taxation.

50