Government Orders

Martin (Lasalle-Émard) Martin (Lincoln) Masse Mayer McCreath Mazankowski McKnight McLean Milliken Nault Nunziata O'Kurley Ouellet Pagtakhan Phinney Redway Rideout Richardson Schneider Rompkey Shields Simmons Thorkelson Stewart Turner (Halton-Peel) Valcourt Vézina

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): I declare the motion lost.

• (2240)

[Translation]

Mr. Saint-Julien: On a point of order, Mr. Speaker,

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): The hon. member for Abitibi, on a point of order.

Mr. Saint-Julien: Mr. Speaker, I would like to have some clarification regarding motion No. 24; more precisely, I would like to know why there was no vote on this motion.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): It is because the mover, the hon. member for Kingston and the Islands, did not move his motion. Consequently it was not put to the vote.

The hon, member for Richelieu has the floor on a point of order.

Mr. Plamondon: A little while ago there was unanimous consent to allow a member to move a motion. Maybe we could ask if there is unanimous consent to move this one.

Some hon. members: Agreed.

Some hon. members: No.

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): There is no consent.

[English]

The next question is on Motion No. 53.

The House divided on Motion No. 53, which was negatived on the following division:

(Division No. 174)

YEAS

Members

Anawak
Axworthy (Saskatoon—Clark's Crossing)
Black

Blackburn (Jonquière) Dingwall

Flis Gagliano

Harvey (Edmonton East) MacWilliam

Murphy Parker Taylor Blaikie Edmonston Gaffney Gardiner Keyes McLaughlin

Skelly (North Island—Powell River)

Whittaker-24

NAYS

Members

Andre Reisher Bosley Bourgault Clifford Collins Corbeil Desjardins Della Noce Duceppe Epp Ferland Fontaine Grev (Beaver River) Gérin Halliday Hogue Horning Hughes Johnson Kempling Koury Landry Leblanc (Longueuil) Lapierre McDermid McLean Nowlan Oberle Plamondon Redway Reimer Rocheleau Saint-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Sparrow Thacker Thompson Tremblay (Rosemont) Vankoughnet Wilson (Swift Current-Maple Creek-Assiniboia)-45

PAIRED MEMBERS

Allmand Anderson Bird Arseneault Blondin Caccia Cadieux Callbeck Catterall Campbell (South West Nova) Clark (Yellowhead) Clancy Cooper Crosby (Halifax West) Copps Darling de Cotret Ferguson Gustafson Jelinek Harvard Kaplan Karygiannis Kilgour (Edmonton Southeast) Layton MacDonald (Dartmouth) Maheu Marchi Marleau Martin (Lasalle-Émard) Martin (Lincoln) Mayer McCreath Masse Mazankowski McKnight McLean Milliken Nault O'Kurley Nunziata Quellet Pagtakhan Phinney Redway Rideout Richardson Schneider Rompkey Shields Simmons Thorkelson Stewart Turner (Halton-Peel) Valcourt Weiner

The Acting Speaker (Mr. DeBlois): I declare the motion lost.

The next question is on Motion No. 56.

The House divided on Motion No. 56, which was negatived on the following division:

Althouse Angus Bevilacqua