corporation taxes on investor-owned electric utilities; a measure to help the development of a feature film industry in Canada; legislation to establish the National Arts Centre and measures respecting the National Gallery and Museums; the extension of the Export and Import Permits Act; and legislation to extend the construction period for the Trans-Canada Highway.

Other legislative proposals which you will be asked to consider will include amendments to the Judges Act, the National Energy Board Act, the Area Development Incentives Act, the Aeronautics Act, the Canadian Vessel Construction Assistance Act, the Yukon and Morthwest Territories Acts, the Bretton Woods Agreements Act, the Atlantic Development Board Act, the National Housing Act, the Defence Production Act, and the Post Office Act. Further measures may be brought forward in the course of the Session as a result of inquiries now pending.

Members of the House of Commons:

You will be asked to appropriate the funds required for the services and payments authorized by Parliament.

Honourable Members of the Senate:

Members of the House of Commons:

May Divine Providence guide you in your deliberations.

On motion of Mr. Pearson seconded by Mr. Martin (Essex East), it was ordered,—That the Speech of His Excellency the Governor General, delivered this day from the Throne to the two Houses of Parliament, be taken into consideration at the next sitting of the House.

On motion of Mr. Pearson, seconded by Mr. Martin (Essex East), it was resolved,—That a Special Committee be appointed to prepare and report, with all convenient speed, lists of Members to compose the Standing Committees of this House; the said Committee to be composed of Messrs. Grégoire, Knowles, Leboe, McIlraith, Pilon, Starr and Winkler.

Mr. Pearson, a Member of the Queen's Privy Council, delivered a Message from His Excellency the Governor General, which was read by Mr. Speaker, as follows:

## GEORGES P. VANIER:

The Governor General transmits to the House of Commons a certified copy of an Order in Council appointing the Honourable George James McIlraith, Minister of Public Works, the Honourable John Robert Nicholson, Minister of Labour, the Honourable Maurice Sauvé, Minister of Forestry, and the Honourable Edgar John Benson, Minister of National Revenue, to act with the Speaker of the House of Commons as commissioners for the purposes and under the provisions of the one hundred and forty-third chapter of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1952, intituled: An Act respecting the House of Commons.