Canada is now 21. Forty-five countries maintain consular offices in Canada comprising forty-four consulates general and one hundred and seventy-four consulates. Six countries maintain eleven trade commissioner offices in Canada.

There were a number of changes in diplomatic representation at Ottawa during the year.

Dr. P. R. Viljoen, High Commissioner for the Union of South Africa, relinquished his post and left Ottawa on January 17, and was succeeded by Mr. A. Adrian Roberts, who took up his post on September 6.

Dr. Juan Carlos Rodriguez, Ambassador of Argentina, left Ottawa on January 29. He was succeeded by Mr. Atilio Garcia Mellid, who presented his letter of credence to His Excellency the Governor General on April 26. Mr. Mellid returned to Argentina on October 11 and Dr. Agustin Nores Martinez has been nominated to succeed him.

Vicomte du Parc presented his letter of credence as Ambassador of Belgium on February 8.

Dr. Alfredo Benavides, Ambassador of Peru, and Dean of the Diplomatic Corps at Ottawa, left Canada on March 26. He was succeeded as Ambassador by Mr. Manuel Cacho-Sousa, who presented his letter of credence on May 12. The Ambassador of Greece, Mr. Constantine Sakellaropoulo, succeeded Dr. Benavides as Dean of the Diplomatic Corps.

Mr. Mohammed Ali assumed his duties on July 11 as the first High Commissioner for Pakistan in Canada. Mr. M. O. A. Baig, Counsellor of the Pakistan Embassy at Washington, arrived in Ottawa on May 25 and was Acting High Commissioner pending the arrival of Mr. Mohammed Ali.

Mr. Francisque Gay, Ambassador of France, left Ottawa on June 12. He was succeeded by Mr. Hubert Guérin who presented his letter of credence on September 27.

Mr. Hughes Le Gallais, Minister of Luxembourg to the United States of America, was nominated in July to be concurrently Minister of Luxembourg to Canada.

Sardar Hardit Singh Malik, High Commissioner for India, left Ottawa on August 6 on his appointment as Ambassador of India to France. He was succeeded as High Commissioner by Mr. S. K. Kirpalani, who arrived in Ottawa on August 14.

Mr. Muzaffer Göker, Ambassador of Turkey, left Ottawa on August 15. Mr. Numan Tahir Seymen has been nominated to succeed him.