# No. 48.

# MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF

# THE SENATE

## OF CANADA

### Tuesday, 18th May, 1909.

#### FIRST DISTINCT SITTING.

The Senate met at Eleven o'clock in the morning.

The Members convened were:-

The Honourable JAMES KIRKPATRICK KERR, Speaker.

#### The Honourable Messieurs

Baird, Baker, Beith, Beique, Belcourt, Bolduc, Bostock, Boucherville, de (C.M.G.), Bowell (Sir Mackenzie), Campbell, Cartwright (Sir Richard), Chevrier,

Cloran, Comeau, Costigan, Cox, Dandurand, David, Davis, Derbyshire, Dessaulles, De Veber, Domville, Ellis, Fiset, Gibson,

Choquette,

Godbout, Jaffray, Landry, Lougheed, McHugh, McKay (Truro), McLaren, McMillan, McMullen, McSweeney, Owens, Perley, Poirier, Power, Ratz, Robertson, Ross (Middlesex), Ross (Malifax), Ross (Moosejaw), Scott, Talbot, Thibaudeau (Rigaud), Thompson, Watson, Yeo, Young.