The house divided on the question: Shall the Speaker's decision be sustained? And the decision of the Chair was sustained on the following division:

YEAS

Messrs:

Applewhaite Ashbourne Batten Benidickson Lavigne Bennett Leboe Bertrand Blackmore Blanchette Boisvert Bourget Bourque Lesage Brisson Low Brown (Brantford) Lusby Brown (Essex West) Bruneau Buchanan Byrne Cannon McCann Cardin Caron Carrick Carter Cauchon McIvor Cavers McLeod Clark Crestohl Dechene Mang Decore Denis Martin Deschatelets Masse Deslieres Dickey Dumas Enfield Nickle Eyre Fairey Follwell Forgie Fraser (St. John's East) Gagnon Gardiner Purdy Garson Gauthier (Portneuf) Quelch Gingues Ratelle Gour (Russell) Reinke Gregg Habel Hahn Hanna Hansell Hardie Harris Harrison Hellver Sinclair Henderson Henry Hollingworth Stick Holowach Hosking Studer Houck

Howe (Port Arthur)

Johnston (Bow River)

Kirk (Antigonish-

Guysborough)

Kirk (Shelburne-

Yarmouth-Clare)

Huffman

James

Jutras

Lafontaine Langlois (Berthier-Maskinonge-Delanaudiere) Langlois (Gaspe) Leduc (Jacques Cartier-Lasalle) Leduc (Verdun) Lefrançois MacDougall MacEachen MacKenzie MacNaught Macnaughton McCubbin McCulloch (Pictou) McDonald McIlraith McMillan McWilliam Meunier Mitchell (Sudbury) Monette Patterson Pearson Philpott Pickersgill Pommer Power (St. John's West) Prudham Richard (Ottawa East) Robertson Robichaud Robinson (Simcoe East) Rouleau St. Laurent (Quebec East) Shipley, Mrs. Smith (Battle River-Camrose) Stuart (Charlotte) Thibault Thomas Tucker Viau Villeneuve Weaver Weir Weselak Yuill-132.

Northern Ontario Pipe Line Corporation NAYS

Messrs:

Aitken, Miss Knight Knowles Argue Macdonnell Balcer MacInnis Barnett MacLean Rell McBain Blair McCullough (Moose Bryce Mountain) Bryson McGregor Cameron (Nanaimo) Campbell Monteith Murphy (Lambton West) Castleden Nesbitt Charlton Nicholson Churchill Pearkes Coldwell Robinson (Bruce) Dinsdale Rowe Drew Ellis Small. Stanton Fraser (Peterborough) Stewart (Winnipeg Fulton North) Green Tustin Hamilton (York West) White (Hastings-Harkness Hees Frontenac) White (Middlesex East) Herridge Winch Johnson (Kindersley) Zaplitny-49. Jones

Mr. Hodgson: Mr. Speaker, I was paired with the hon. member for Pontiac-Timiskaming (Mr. Proudfoot). Had I voted, I would have voted against your ruling.

Mr. Speaker: The question is on the motion that I do now leave the chair for the house to resolve itself into committee of the whole on the proposed resolution.

Mr. Fulton: Mr. Speaker, in order that the Minister of Finance may have the opportunity of doing now that which he said he would consider doing later, I move, seconded by the hon. member for Lanark (Mr. Blair):

That the house do proceed to another order, namely order No. 12.

Mr. Speaker: May I point out to the hon. member that I cannot accept his motion because the order that is now before the house is a government order, and the other order that the hon. member now considers we should proceed with is order No. 12, which is another government order, and government orders may be moved only by the leader of the house. I would refer hon. members to standing order 18(2). There is also citation 136, which reads:

All motions referring to the business of the house should be introduced by the leader of the house.

By virtue of standing order 18(2) the government has full jurisdiction over its own orders. Standing order 18(2) reads:

Except as provided in standing order 56, government orders may be called in such sequence as the government may think fit.

Therefore, I cannot accept the hon. member's motion. Do hon. members wish to ask