The main committees

The General Assembly deals with most of its work through seven main committees on which all members have the right to be represented. Though each member may be represented by only one person on each committee, each may assign advisers and experts to these committees. Upon the designation of the chairman of each delegation, such advisers and experts may act as members of the committee. Quorum is one-quarter of the members of each committee, but the presence of a majority of the members is required for a question to be put to the vote. Decision is by majority.

(See Rules 98-134 of the Rules of Procedure of the General Assembly)

The seven chairmen of the main committees are elected on the following pattern:

- (a) three from the Afro-Asian group
- (b) one from the East European group
- (c) one from the Latin American group
- (d) one from the Western European and Other Group
- (e) one to rotate every alternate year among representatives of groups (c) and (d).

The main committees are as follows:

FIRST COMMITTEE - Political and Security Committee (including the regulation of armaments)

SPECIAL POLITICAL COMMITTEE — Special Political Committee (political questions not discussed by the First Committee)

SECOND COMMITTEE — Economic and Financial Committee

THIRD COMMITTEE — Social, Humanitarian and Cultural Committee

FOURTH COMMITTEE - Trusteeship Committee (including non-self governing territories)

FIFTH COMMITTEE - Administrative and Budgetary Committee

SIXTH COMMITTEE - Legal Committee

The General Assembly, as a rule, refers all questions on its agenda to one of the main committees, to a joint committee, or to an *ad hoc* committee established to consider the question. These committees then submit proposals for approval to a plenary meeting of the Assembly. Questions not referred to a main committee are dealt with by the Assembly itself in plenary meetings.

Other bodies

In addition to the main committees, the General Assembly is assisted mainly by the following bodies:

- (1) The General Committee, which is composed of the President, 17 Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, and the chairmen of the seven main committees, is a kind of steering group which meets during the first week of the session to recommend the inclusion of items in the agenda, the allocation of an agenda item to committee, and to supervise the smooth running of the Assembly's work.
- (2) The Credentials Committee, appointed by the President at each session, verifies the credentials of the representatives (both the U.S.S.R. and U.S.A. traditionally have been members).
- (3) The Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions provides expert examination of the UN budget.
- (4) The Committee on Contributions advises the General Assembly on the apportionment of the expenses of the organization among the members.
- (5) The Committee on Conferences advises the General Assembly on the program of conference and acts on behalf of the General Assembly between sessions.

Subsidiary and ad hoc bodies are set up as necessary.