In 1811, interest of land a settleseverely ently had illed. In to restore on of the

rised, be-

istributed

the Com-

he hands

explored In 1792, o arrange ory along land. In ne Northns to the He also ame. In n of Var. the bounted States he Fraser d British

governor,

lliser sur-

he Queen he capital

## CHAPTER XVI.

## THE DOMINION OF CANADA.

1. British North America Act.

- 2. Duties of Governor-General.
  3. The Senate.
  4. The House of Commons.
  5. The Provincial Legislatures.
- 6. Admissio: of other provinces, 7. Dutie. o. Parliament.
- 8. Deb an revenue.
- 9. Dominion Day. Nova Scotia dissatisfied.
   Manitoba.
- 12. British Columbia.

- Washington Treaty.
   Dual Representation.
- 15. New Brunswick School Act.
- 16. Change in the Dominion Minis-
- 17. Riel and Lepine.
- 18. Progress in 1876.19. Depression of trade.
- 20. Halifax Commission.
- 21. Canadian sentiment.
- 22. Concluding words.
- 1. The Dominion of Canada began in 1867, with the union of the four provinces of Upper Canada, Lower Canada, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick. "British North America Act," the name of Upper Canada was changed to Ontario, and that of Lower Canada to Quebec. It is important to understand this Act, because it made provision for three important things: first, how the Dominion was to be governed; second, how each province was to be governed, and, third, how the Dominion might, in the Suture, be enlarged by adding other provinces.
- 2. According to that Act, the authority of the Sovereign of the British Empire, was to be represented by a Governor-General, in whom was to be vested the power by which the laws are to be carried out. For this reason, he appoints the Lieutenant-Governors of the provinces, and the judges of the various courts. He is the commander-in-chief of all the military and naval forces in the Dominion, and no Act of Parliament can become law until he has given his assent to it. In him resides the power to commute the sentence of a court of justice.