144 SUMMARY OF CANADIAN HISTORY.

the Legislative Assembly—the former consisting of twenty-four members nominated by the Crown, and holding office for life, on the same conditions of removal as the members of the Federal Senate; the latter composed of sixty-five members, and elected by the same divisions and in the same way as those of the Federal House of Commons.

V

n

p

c jı

8

t

Ē

d

P

Ŵ

8

G

C

a P

al ra

r

p p

P

h

d

m

fo

B

The Parliaments of Quebec and Ontario are chosen for four years, and must meet at least once a-year.

The local Parliaments for Nova Scotia and New Brunswick continue to be chosen and to act, subject to the provisions of the Act of Union, as they were accustomed to do previously; while the acts of all the four local legislatures are subject to review and reversal by the Governor-General in Council, as the federal acts are by the Queen.

DISTRIBUTION OF LEGISLATIVE POWERS.

XXXV.—The legislative powers of the Federal Parliament are very extensive, embracing the exclusive consideration of such subjects as the following :— Public Debt; Regulation of Trade and Commerce; Taxation; Borrowing of Money on Public Credit; Postal Service; Census; Militia; Payment of Officers of Government of Canada; Beacons; Navigation; Quarantine; Fisheries; Currency; Banking; Savings' Banks; Weights and Measures; Interest; Legal Tender; Patents; Marriage; Criminal Law; Penitentiaries, &c.

The local Legislatures take cognizance of matters more strictly provincial, such as the Amendment of the Local Constitution, except with reference to the Lieutenant-Governor; Direct Taxation for Provincial Purposes; Management of the Public Lands of the Province; its Municipal Institutions; its Local Public