therefore, in this University will depend largely upon the work of the Science division. Hitherto the Science departments were largely in the nature of independent overseas dominions and this by-law is intended to unite their efforts more effectively, alike in teaching and research and in administration. The old and disturbing confusion between Science in Arts and Applied Science has also been eliminated by this change. All students hereafter, therefore, intending to study Science at McGill will enter the Science division of the Faculty of Arts and Science. A further report on this change, contributed by Dean F.M.G. Johnson, the Dean of Science under the new order, follows:-

## The Science Division of the Faculty of Arts and Science

The possible advantages to be derived from a division of the Faculty of Arts into two Faculties, - a Faculty of Arts, and a Faculty of Science, had been frequently discussed in recent years by many of its members.

It was suggested by Dean Ira MacKay that such a division would be a subject suitable for consideration by the B.Sc. Advisory Committee.

At a meeting of that Committee, in March 1930, it was resolved "That the B.Sc. Committee recommend the appointment of a Dean and a separate Faculty of Science, on the understanding that the status quo be preserved with the present Dean of Arts as the senior Dean of McGill College". This resolution was brought before the Faculty, which however thought it unwise to form a separate Faculty of Science.

A division into two groups was however agreed upon, and the following resolution passed for the approval of Corporation.

"The Faculty shall hereafter be called the Faculty of Arts and Science There shall be two groups in the Faculty, an Arts group and a Science group.

The present Dean of the Faculty shall be Chairman of the Arts group. There shall also be appointed a Dean who will be known as the Dean of Science and who will be Chairman of the Science group.

11.