The house divided on the amendment (Mr. Coldwell) which was agreed to on the following division:

## YEAS

## Messrs:

Abbott Leger Bertrand (Laurier) Little Black (Chateauguay-McCann Huntingdon) McCuaig Blackmore McCubbin Blair McCulloch Bradette MacDiarmid Breithaupt Macdonald (Brantford City) Macdonald (Halifax) Bryce Burton Casselman, Mrs. (Edmonton East) Macdonald (Kingston City) Castleden McGarry Chevrier McGeer Clark McGibbon Claxton McIlraith Cleaver McIvor Coldwell MacKenzie (Lambton-Kent) Corman Coté MacKenzie (Neepawa) Crerar Mackenzie Dechene (Vancouver Centre) MacKinnon Donnelly Douglas (Edmonton West) McLarty Dupuis MacLean (Cape Breton North-Victoria) Edwards Emmerson McLean (Simcoe East) Factor Fair Macmillan Farquhar McNevin Fauteux Marier Fournier (Hull) Marshall Fraser (Northumber-land, Ont.) Fulford Martin Matthews Maybank Furniss Mayhew Michaud Gardiner Gershaw Mitchell Gibson Mulock Gillis Mutch Nicholson Nielsen, Mrs. Nixon Gladstone Golding Goulet Noseworthy O'Neill Graham Grant Pinard Pottier Gray Gregory Hanson (Skeena) Harris (Grey-Bruce) Purdy Quelch Ralston Healy Henderson Reid Hill Rennie Hlynka Rickard Hoblitzell Roebuck Howden Rose Ross (Calgary East) Howe Hurtubise Ross (Hamilton East) Ross (Middlesex East) Ilsley Ross (Moose Jaw) St. Laurent Johnston (Bow River) Johnston (London) Sanderson Shaw King, Mackenzie Sinclair Kinley Sissons Kirk Slaght Knowles Soper Taylor Kuhl LaFlèche Thauvette Lapointe (Matapedia-Tomlinson Tripp Matane)

Turgeon

Leduc

Turner Veniot Ward Warren Weir

Whitman Winkler Wood Wright-141.

## NAYS

## Messrs:

Adamson Hazen Authier Homuth Bence Jackman Bertrand (Prescott) Lacombe Black (Cumberland)
Black (Yukon)
Blanchette LaCroix Laflamme Lafontaine Bonnier Lalonde Lapointe (Lotbinière) Boucher Bourget Brooks Leader Leclerc Bruce Lockhart Brunelle McDonald (Pontiac) Cardiff McGregor Cardin MacKinnon Casselman (Kootenay East) (Grenville-Dundas) MacNicol Choquette Neill Parent Church Cloutier Perley Crète Picard d'Anjou Pouliot Raymond Denis Desmond Rhéaume Ross (St. Pauls) Ross (Souris) Diefenbaker Dorion Dubois Rowe Dubuc Roy Esling Ryan Eudes Senn Ferron Stirling Fournier (Maison-Stokes neuve-Rosemont) Sylvestre Graydon Tremblay Green Tustin Hallé White-70. Harris (Danforth)

Right Hon. W. L. MACKENZIE KING (Prime Minister): At the present time the fate of nations is being decided on the battlefields of Europe. How soon the decision will come God only knows. One thing we know is that anything that supports our fighting men will hasten that decision. Anything that withholds support that they need, and that is at all within our power to give, may have consequences for them and for us of which I hesitate to speak.

I have been amazed at some of the speeches that have been made in this house during the course of the debate not only to-night, but particularly to-day and yesterday, when one considers what the motion is that is before the house, and when it is apparent that it relates wholly and exclusively to the support that can be given to our fighting men overseas in this sixth year of war.

This evening the leader of the official opposition spoke in the debate. I leave it to the hon. members to say for themselves whether I am right or whether I am wrong