- the Commission on Science and Technology for Development;
- the Commission on Sustainable Development; and
- the Statistical Commission.

The Council also has regional economic commissions charged with promoting economic development in each region, and strengthening economic relations among the various countries there and between these countries and the rest of the world. They are as follows:

- the Economic Commission for Africa (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia);
- the Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (Bangkok, Thailand);
- the Economic and Social Commission for Western Asia (Beirut, Lebanon);
- the Economic Commission for Europe (Geneva, Switzerland); and
- the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (Santiago, Chile).

The Council also has four standing committees: (1) the Committee for Programming and Co-ordination; (2) the Commission on Human Settlements; (3) the Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations; and (4) the Committee on Negotiations with Intergovernmental Agencies.

Last, the Council supervises the work of a great many expert bodies on questions such as the environment, natural resources, and economic, cultural and social rights. It also oversees the governing boards of several UN organs, including the United Nations Children's Fund, the Office of the High Commissioner for Refugees, the World Food Programme and the United Nations Population Fund, to name but a few.

Trusteeship Council

The Trusteeship Council is the only UN body that is no longer active; however, its mechanisms are still in place and could be re-activated if circumstances change. It was originally set up to ensure that the governments charged with administering the territories under UN trusteeship (11 at the time of the Council's inception) suitably prepared them for autonomy or independence. Its role came to an end in 1994, when the last of these territories —Palau, an island group in the Pacific Ocean, which had been administered by the United States—opted for a new status. The Trusteeship Council, which had been composed of the five permanent members of the Security Council, will not sit again unless required by special circumstances.

International Court of Justice

The International Court of Justice (also called the World Court) is the United Nations' main legal organ. The Court sits in The Hague in the Netherlands and has 15 judges, who are elected by the General