New Board of Agriculture.

The election for members of the new Council have resulted as follows:

No. 1-Mr. George Macdonell, Cornwall.

2-Hon: James Skead, Ottawa.

3—Sheriff Ferguson, Kingston. 4—Mr. Edwin Mallory, Napanes. -Hon, A. A. Burnham.

6-Mr. George Graham, Brampton. 7-Mr. James Cowan, Waterloo. -Mr. J. C. Rykart, St. Catharines.

-Mr. David Christie, Paris. 10-Mr. Robert Gibbons, Goderich.

11-Mr. Lionel C. Shipley, Falkirk. 12-Mr. Stephen White, Charing Cross.

In reading the above we recognize the names of many who have long since established a reputation for their devotion to agriculture and its interests-men who have labored in earnest for the welfare of the Province, in their respective private capacities. A vast field is now open before them for collective effort, and one not deficient in gratitude. Few bodies of men have the chance to secure such a name as they may win and do so much good as they can do. In the whirl of politics many important interests connected with agricultural development have been neglected, and it is their province to attend to these. They have the history of past failures to guide them. There is no excuse for delay. We are struggling to perfect our political system, but while we do this let us not forget our leading interest. There are many matters of detail that require immediate attention. Neglected departments require new life to be infused into them. There is no use indulging in recrimination in regard to the mistakes of the past, but let every effort be devoted to the actual present. The above list includes the names of four members of the old Board, and no doubt the routine knowledge will be of benefit to the new. Let them strike boldly at abuses and map out plans for the benefit of the farming community, and they can rest assured their labors will not be unappreciated.

The official return made to the Provincial Assembly, disclosing the financial condition of the Board of Agriculture, startled the country and has called forth varied comments. It is well known by our readers that we have long demanded an investigation by the proper authorities of the administrative system of Board. We made enemies by so doing. The parties in power abused us for daring to doubt, or treated our remarks with contempt. But our distrust was not quieted, Complaint after complaint was made by parties who had won premiums and who were unable to get their money.

Saltfleet and Binbrock Agricultural Society.

The Saltfleet and Binbrook Agricultural Society, is in a prosperous condition. The receipts and expenditure of last year amounted to something over \$400, and a balance on hand of \$56 for the present year. The following are the office bearers for 1869.

President, Frederick S. Jarvis; Vice President, Wm. Warrack; Secretary and Treasurer, Jonathan Davis. Directors. S.

Lee, Isaac Springstead, Ashman P. Combs, Henry R. Wilson, John Webb, Charles Har vey, Wm. Brown, Richard Sweazie, Robert Shaw, Jr.

OFFICERS ELECT.

CONTINUED.

Dewnie-J. Ballantyne President-T. Ballantyne, Secretary.

Normanby-J. Robertson, Pres., Jas. Scott, Secretary.

Caeistor-J. Kerr, Pres., Thos. Perew. Sec. Whitby-G. Ogston, Pres., A. McKenzie, Sec. Egremont-H. Walsefield, Pres., Wm. Reid, Secretary.

North Lanark - Dr. Mortyn, Pres., Jas. Baird, Sec.

South Oxford-Wm. Carr, Pres., R. S. Williams, Sec.

Louth-J. J. Gregory, Pres., J. Crowe, Sec. Moore-J. Payne, Pres., H. J. Miller, Sec. Centre Wellington—M. Anderson, Pres., Thos. Full, Sec.

Crowland-A. Reid, Pres., Wm. Buchter, Sec. Maryborough - Wm. Holmer, Pres., Wm Kidd, Sec.

Feel-Thos. Garbutt, Pres., Wm. Watson, Sec. South Renfrew-J. L. McDougal, Pres., John Campbell, Sec.

Brant-Jas. Ward, Pres., A. St. L. Mackintosh, Sec.

Owen Sound-J. McLean, Pres., J. G. Francis, Sec.

St. Vincent-Jas. Paterson, Pres., J. Albery,

North Grey-J. R. Todd, Pres., D. Neving, Sec. Fullarton-Geo. Liverage, Pres., W. David son, Sec.

Dunn-W. C. Lowe, Pres., J.Q. Hamilton, Sec. Cavan-W. H. Russell, Pres., Thos. Morrow, Sec. Murray-W. H. Fox, Pres., G. Jones, Sec.

Carleton-G. W. Eaton, Pres., A. S. Woodburn, Sec. Eckfrid—T. Beckton, Pres., P. Comeill, Sec.

East Elgin-S. Wade, Pres., J. King, Sec. North Wellington-A. Buschlen, Pres., J. Moore, Sec.

Chingacousy-Wm. Heath, Pres., J. Laidlow, Sec.

East Durham-H. Choate, Pres., J. Foot, Sec. Muskoka-A. J. Alport, Pres., J. B. Browning, Sec.

South Huron-Jas. Dickson, Pres., H. Love, Secretary.

Essex-S. Wigle, Pres., Jas. Noble, Sec. Frontenac-Jno. Wilmot, Pres., Ph. Day, Sec. North Perth-Sheriff Moderwell, Pres., S. Campbell, Sec.

Bothwell-J. Smith, Pres., I. Unsworth, Sec. South Monaghan-E. Kerr, Pres., J. Riddell,

Secretary, Monck-A. K. Scholfield, Pres., H. Crawford, Secretary.

North Waterloo-D. Petch, Pres., M. Springer, Secretary.

Asphodel-F. Birdsall, Pres., E. Roxburgh, Secretary.

South Grenville-Wm. Tracy, Sec.

South Dumfries-B. Bell, Pres., W. Sewell, Secretary.

Walpole-J. P. Biggar, Pres., A. Finch, Sec. Colchester Jas. Howie, Pres., W. Grubb, Sec. South Waterloo-R. Blain, Pres., W. Oliver, Secretary.

North Bruce-H. Brown, Pres., D. McGillivray, Sec. of animal ad hornware

Lincoln-N. H. Pawling. Pres., J. Douglas, Secretary.

South Lanark-W. McGarry, Pres., P. Stewart Secretary.

Hibbert-G. Hamilton, Pres., R. Gardener, Secretary East Hastings-J. J. Farley, Pres., R. R.

Palmer Sec. Puslinch—D. McFarlane, Pres., J. Grant Sec.

Prince Edward-L. B. Stinson, Pres., S. P Niles, Sec. Erin-R Dunbar, Pres., I. Laight, Sec.

Gore Toronto-J P De La Haye, Pres, Jos. Figg, Sec.

Curloss-F. Ballagh, Pres., Jas. Fraser, Sec. Momington-J. Bryden, Pres., S. Whately, Secretary.

Bexley-Wm. Corbett, Pres., J. Staples, Sec. King-Thos. Medcalf, Pres., Jas. Wells, Sec. Dundas-G. M. Merkly, Pres., A. G. Mc-Donell, Sec.

East York-Jas. Patton, Pres., Wm. Thompson, Sec.

North Victoria-J. D. Naylor, Pres., J. S. Russell, Sec.

Port Hope-J. Smart, Pres., H. M. Rose, Secretary.

Aldboro'—A. Humphrey, Pres., J. McKillop, Sec. This picture is missing

West Elgin-A. Brown, Pres., D. Lamont, Secretary. Prescott-R. D. Ryert, Pres., J. Shields, Sec.

Vaughn-J. Abell, Pres., T. Graham, Sec. Ainleyville-J. J. McLauchlan, Pres., Wingham-R. Currie, Pres., C. J. Scott, Sec.

North Renfrew-W. Findlay, Pres., N. W. Jackson, Sec. Mosa—B. Samson, Pres., H. Thomson, Sec.

Pilkington-T. Bates, Pres., C. Hickslin, Sec.

The West Northumberland Agricultural Society have resolved to establish Spring and Fall Fairs in Cobourg for the purchase or exchange of stock and seed.

A year since, the number of Chambers of Agric culture established in Great Britian was thirty-six ow it has increased to seventy. At the close of 2867, the aggregate number of members enrolled was 10,000, now it has increased to 16,000.

Who says that Canada has an unhealthy climate? A friend of Mr. James Anderson carrier, of Galt, brings to our notice that the united ages of the family of five persons that occupy his house at present, amount to 340 years! The names and ages are respectively as follows:---

James Anderson years.

Showing a total of340. arrest 200 % Can any one best this 1 The "Big petatoe" question is well-nigh exhausted, so we get up this new field for competition.