scholarships for competition throughout the Commonwealth and by July 1960 the Canadian Committee had completed its selection of candidates nominated by agencies. There are now studying in Canada 101 scholars from 25 Commonwealth countries and territories as follows:

India	14	Malta	2
United Kingdom	13	Singapore	. –
West Indies Federation	9	Malaya	2 2
Australia	9	Nigeria	2
Pakistan	8	British Guiana	2
Ceylon	5	Mauritius	2
Ghana	5	Tanganyika	1
New Zealand	4	Basutoland	1
South Africa	4	Bermuda	1
Federation of Rhodesia		British Honduras	1
and Nyasaland	4	Fiji	. 1
Uganda	4	Sierra Leone	. 1
Kenya	3	Somaliland	1

During the year the Canadian Committee also nominated scholars for awards offered by the United Kingdom and Australia, and received offers of awards from Pakistan, New Zealand, South Africa, Malaya, and Hong Kong and jointly from Kenya, Tanganyika and Uganda. The Committee has sent the notice of Canadian awards for the academic year 1961-62 to the appropriate agencies in Commonwealth countries and territories, and it is expected that a further 125 awards will be made next year, so that in 1961-62 there will be well over 200 Commonwealth scholars studying in Canada.

Enquiries concerning details of awards offered by other Commonwealth countries to Canada should be addressed to Dr. T. H. Matthews, Secretary Canadian Commonwealth Scholarship and Fellowship Committee, 77 Metcalfe Street, Ottawa.