Criminal Code

a fine in the opinion of the magistrate would meet the ends of justice. It would also pay dividends to the Canadian people as a whole by reducing the numbers of those in Canadian jails, which numbers are as high as if not higher than those of any nation among the free nations.

You and I must consider that every year 100,000 Canadians go to jail, a considerable percentage because of their inability to pay a fine. We must realize that something should be done to remove from Canada's name a record which is unenviable and which is certainly not justified on the basis of modern criminology. It is not as though I were bringing to this house something that has not been tried. I bring to this house an amendment which has behind it more than 40 years' experience of trial experiment in Great Britain. It has been found to be successful; it has brought about an ameloraion of conditions in Great Britain in a penological way. It has reduced the number of Englishmen, Scotsmen and Irishmen who find themselves at some time or another in jail. It has done something more; it has reduced the numbers in penal institutions of those who later in life under our system, because they have had a previous jail sentence, are often denied that consideration to which they should be entitled on the commission of a latter offence.

I commend this amendment to the attention of the house, not only in the interests of the individual who is unable to pay a fine but also in the wider sense of its contribution to better Canadian citizenship and its contribution toward the raising of our penological standards and the emptying of our jails of many who should not be there.

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Diefenbaker) which was negatived on the following division:

YEAS Messrs:

Holowach

Jones

Low

Knight

Knowles

MacLean

McGregor

Michener

Monteith

Nesbitt Nicholson

Nickle

Pearkes

Quelch

Rea

McBain

Johnston (Bow River)

McCullough (Moose

Mitchell (London)

Mountain)

Balcer	
Barnett	
Bell	
Blackmore	9
Blair	
Bryce	
Cameron	(Nanaimo)
Castleden	
Charlton	
Churchill	
Diefenbak	er
Dinsdale	
Drew	
Ellis	
Fulton	
Hahn	
Hamilton	(York West)
Hansell	
Herridge	
Hodgson	
nougson	

[Mr. Diefenbaker.]

Rowe Smith (Battle River-Camrose) Stanton Stewart (Winnipeg North) Thomas

Anderson Applewhaite Ashbourne Batten Benidickson Bennett Blanchette Boisvert Bourget Bourque Breton Brissun Brown (Essex West) Bruneau Buchanan Byrne Cameron (High Park) Campney Cannon Caron Carrick Carter Cavers Clark Cloutier Crestohl Dechene Decore Demers Deslieres Dickey Dumas Dupuis Fairey Follwell Fontaine Forgie Fraser (St. John's East) Garland Gauthier (Lake St. John) Reinke Gauthier (Nickel Belt) Gauthier (Portneuf) Gingras Gingues Goode Gourd (Chapleau) Gregg Habel Hardie Harris Harrison Healy Hellyer Henderson Henry Hosking Houck Howe (Port Arthur) Huffman Hunter James Jutras Kirk (Shelburne-Yarmouth-Clare) Laflamme Lafontaine

Tustin White (Hastings-Frontenac White (Middlesex East) Winch Yuill Zaplitny-50.

NAYS Messrs:

Langlois (Berthier-Maskinonge-Delanaudiere) Langlois (Gaspe) Lapointe Lavigne Leduc (Gatineau) Leduc (Jacques Cartier-Lasalle) Lefrancois Legare Lesage Lusby MacDougall MacEachen MacNaught Macnaughton McCann McCubbin McCulloch (Pictou) McDonald McIlraith McIvor McMillan McWilliam Masse Michaud Mitchell (Sudbury) Monette Pearson Pickersgill Pinard Pommer Power (Quebec South) Power (St. John's West) Proudfoot Prudham Purdy Ratelle Richard (Ottawa East) Richard (St. Maurice-Lafleche) Richardson Roberge Robertson Robichaud Robinson (Simcoe East) Ross Rouleau St. Laurent (Quebec East) Schneider Shipley, Mrs. Simmons Sinclair Stick Stuart (Charlotte) Thibault Tucker Villeneuve Weaver Weir Weselak

Winters-125.

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion lost.