## ACTS OF THE INTERNATIONAL WHALING CONFERENCE

Signed at Washington, December 2, 1946

I

## FINAL ACT VO SETTIMATOR

The Governments of Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Denmark, France, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Peru, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America, represented by plenipotentiary delegations; and the Governments of Iceland, Ireland, Portugal, Sweden, and the Union of South Africa, represented by observer delegations;

Having accepted the invitation extended to them by the Government of the United States of America to participate in an International Whaling

Conference;

Appointed their respective representatives, who are listed below by countries in the order of alphabetical precedence:

(Here follow the names of the representatives)

The Conference met at Washington on November 20, 1946, under the Temporary Chairmanship of Remington Kellogg, Chairman of the Delegation of the United States of America.

At the opening session a motion was unanimously adopted to extend an invitation for officers of the Secretariat of the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations to attend the Conference sessions and committee meetings as observers. The attendance in this capacity of the officers nominated by the Organization, D. B. Finn, Harry Winsor, and H. V. Knight, was approved by the Conference, on the recommendation of the Committee on Credentials.

With the approval of the President of the United States of America, Clarke L. Willard, Acting Chief of the Division of International Conferences, Department of State of the United States, was designated as Secretary General of the Conference, and Donald J. Chaney, Chief Counsel, Fish and Wildlife Service, Department of the Interior of the United States, was designated Technical Secretary of the Conference.

Remington Kellogg, Chairman of the Delegation of the United States of America, was elected Permanent Chairman of the Conference at the second session, held on November 20, 1946, and Ira N. Gabrielson, Member of the Delegation of the United States of America, was elected Vice Chairman of the

Conference at the same session.

The general committees established by the Rules of Procedure adopted provisionally at the opening session were constituted by the Temporary Chairman as follows:

## COMMITTEE ON CREDENTIALS

(Here follow the names of members of the Committee)

## COMMITTEE ON NOMINATIONS (.....)

The following technical committees were appointed by the Chairman: