DEPENDENT TERRITORIES

Introduction

Dependent territories are of two types: non-self-governing territories, and trust territories. Chapter XI (Article 73) of the Charter relates to the former kind of territory and contains a declaration that member states administering these territories "recognize the principle that the interests of the inhabitants of these territories are paramount and accept as a sacred trust the obligation to promote to the utmost . . . the well being of the inhabitants of these territories". The states administering these non-selfgoverning territories are required to ensure the political, economic, social and educational advancement of the inhabitants and guarantee their just treatment and protection against abuse; they also pledge to develop selfgovernment and assist the people of the non-self-governing territories in the progressive development of their free political institutions; and they agree to transmit regularly to the Secretary-General for information purposes, information of a technical nature relating to economic, social, and educational conditions in the territories for which they are responsible. Chapter XI of the Charter did not set up a special committee to deal with this incoming information, but the General Assembly appointed a Committee on Information from Non-Self-Governing Territories which analyzes the information submitted by administering states and makes suggestions for improvements. Article 73 (e) of the Charter's Chapter XI which defines the obligation to submit this information to the Secretary-General, does not mention any requirement to submit information on "political conditions" in these territories.

Eleven trust territories, some of them former mandated territories under the League of Nations, were placed by individual trusteeship agreements, under the Trusteeship Council which was established under Chapter XII of the Charter. The General Assembly approves the terms of the agreements between the United Nations and the individual administering powers, while the Trusteeship Council supervises the administration of these agreements. The functions of the Trusteeship Council include considering the reports of the administering authorities; examining petitions from the inhabitants of the trust territories; sending periodic visiting missions to the territories; and preparing questionnaires to guide the administering authorities in making their reports.

The General Assembly, in the exercise of its authority under the Charter, established the Fourth (Trusteeship) Committee to consider questions relating to both types of dependent teritories; this Committee deals with the report of the Trusteeship Council and other items relating to trust territories, and also with any questions concerning the administration of non-self-governing territories. There is a conflict of views in the Committee on Information from Non-self-governing Territories, in the Trusteeship