include the Kennebecasis, Long Reach and Belleisle; Queens, Gagetown, Washademoac and Grand Lake; Sunbury, the old pre-Loyalist settlement of Maugerville and the Oromocto; and York the new city of Fredericton and the Loyalist settlements above. In making these divisions, I think there is little doubt that the DesBarres larger map (Map No. 40, 41), was used, as is strongly suggested by the presence on it of the lines of Maugerville and Burton, adopted as the boundaries of Sunbury. As to the precise positions of the lines, this was determined no doubt, in great part as shown on Map No. 34, by the effort to make them avoid cutting through individual land grants, which it would be a disadvantage to have included in different counties, the more especially as such grants are usually made in definite counties. When later, the increase of population made it necessary to sub-divide the great county of York, and Carleton (1831), Victoria (1844), and Madawaska (1873), were successively set off, the same general principles were evidently followed. The lines of separation crossed the river nearly at right angles, or deviated to avoid cutting land grants, and were so placed as to group together related settlements and river branches, and to interfere as little as possible with existent land grants.

As to the North Shore group, that included at first only Northumberland, and its population increased so slowly that it was not until 1826 that new divisions were needed, and then Kent was erected to include the small rivers of which the Richibucto is the centre, and Gloucester to include the Bay Chaleur and Restigouche region, from which the Restigouche was set off in a new county in 1837.

Of the original Fundy group, but a single county has been divided, and that is Westmorland. By 1845, the increasing population of that county had made so manifest the disadvantages of having it divided by so turbulent and often impassable a river as the Petitcodiac, that all west of it was erected into a new county, Albert.

Although these lines were laid out with all the foresight the knowledge of the time permitted, it was soon found that some of them did not run as expected or were otherwise inconvenient, and from time to time they were altered. Thus the Kings-Westmorland line was removed eastward from the supposed to the true watershed between the Kennebecasis and Petitcodiac in 1787, and was again altered in 1837; the Kent western boundaries, established in 1826, were altered in 1845; the Northumberland-York line was moved westward nearer to the real watershed in 1803, and changes were made in the eastern boundary of Restigouche in 1881 and in the western in 1854. But none of these changes affected the principles on which the lines