## PRESS RELEASE



## COMMUNIQUÉ

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS

MINISTÈRE DES AFFAIRES EXTÉRIEURES

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TUESDAY, AUGUST 18, 1964.

No. 56

## Third Commonwealth Education Conference

The Secretary of State for External Affairs, the Honourable Paul Martin, announced today the composition of the Canadian Delegation to the Third Commonwealth Education Conference which will be held in Ottawa from August 21 to September 4, 1964. The Delegation, in addition to the Secretary of State for External Affairs, will include representatives of provincial Departments of Education, the university community, professional associations and other organizations concerned with various forms of education. Its membership is as follows:

Honourable Paul Gérin-Lajoie, Minister of Education, Quebec.

Special Delegate

Mr. K.W. Taylor, Special Adviser, Privy Council Office, Ottawa.

Deputy Leader

Dr. G.C. Andrew, Executive Director, Canadian Universities Foundation, Ottawa.

Mr. F.T. Atkinson, Deputy Minister of Education, Province of New Brunswick.

Dr. J.D. Babbitt, Secretary for International Relations, National Reserach Council, Ottawa.

Mr. B. Scott Bateman, Deputy Minister of Education, Province of Manitoba.

Mr. Jean Bazin, President, Canadian Union of Students, Ottawa.

Mr. J.M. Bentley, President, Canadian Federation of Agriculture, Ottawa.