f Educaegislative
e endowof which
lingly, in
n in vigonnected
establisher is emitrengthroice exs well as
tia upon

Institusubordi-Mulholsupport-

ng from

considde pubpils, inuctions
instrucand the
lly well
by his

onal ine desirsment

iciently

ry effimay et, it is

class. nigher towns, or large villages of the province. There are also three chartered colleges in operation—King's College at Windsor, an Episcopalian Institution, Acadia College, Wolfville, Baptist: and St Mary's College, Halifax, Roman Catholic. Another Catholic educational institution of the higher class has recently been opened at Antigonish. Although these institutions are under denominational control, no religious tests are required of students on matriculation. The curriculum in each of these colleges, extending over four years, does not differ materially from that of the others. It usually comprises courses of instruction in the Latin and Greek languages, mathematics, logic, rhetoric, and moral and intellectual philosophy.

In King's and Acadia Colleges, there are also theological departments baving professorships of Hebrew and theology. The "Free Church College for the Lower Provinces of British North America" is located at Halifax, and affords a course of instruction similar to that of the other institutions just mentioned. Gorham College, Liverpool, Queen's County, under the control of the Congregational sect, was suddenly interrupted in its operations in the year 1854, owing to the destruction of the college building by accidental fire. This serious damage has not yet been repaired. The Presbyterian church of Nova Scotia has a Theological seminary, now at Durham, in Pictou County, but about to be removed to Truro. Dalhousic College, at Halifax, was incorporated in 1820; when a building was erected at the public expense, and a sum invested in the British three per-cents for the support of the institution. It has not, as yet answered the expectations which were entertained concerning it.

CHAPTER VII.

CIVIL DIVISIONS AND OTHER ITEMS OF GENERAL INTELLIGENCE.

The principal civil divisions of Nova Scotia are, Counties and Townships.

Counties are the most important of these divisions. Each county sends representatives to the House of Assembly, has a Sheriff and a bench of Magistrates, has two Sessions of the Supreme Court in each year, and has the power of levying taxes within its limits.

There are eighteen Counties; fourteen of which are in Nova Scotia Proper, and four in Cape Breton.

Townships are subdivisions of Counties. Most of them were originally tracts of land granted to Companies or Associations for the purpose of settlement.