Political Development

Reasserting its interest in securing voluntary information on the political development of peoples in non-self-governing territories, the Assembly in 1954 noted that some members had not yet transmitted such information. Canada opposed this resolution since it was an extension of the competence of the Assembly beyond the established limits of economic, social and educational matters. A new resolution was introduced at the tenth session calling for the assistance of the Specialized Agencies in preparing a report for 1956 on the main aspects useful to the General Assembly in its proposed examination of the progress achieved by the non-self-governing territories under Chapter XI of the Charter; the vote on this resolution¹ was 45 in favour, 0 against, with 12 abstentions (including Canada).

Continuance of the Committee on Information

The continuance of the Committee on Information from Non-self-governing Territories was the subject of a general debate at the 1955 session of the General Assembly. Some of the non-administering countries thought, as they did in 1952, that the Committee should be made a permanent body. This proposal was opposed by Belgium whose Delegation has not participated in recent sessions of the Committee. The Belgian Representative stated that his country was not ready to furnish the General Assembly with the means of exercising a form of supervision which was not sanctioned by Chapter XI of the Charter. The representative of the United Kingdom, in order to prevent further encroachments on the rights of administering countries by attempts at revising the Committee's terms of reference, agreed to continue to take part in the deliberations of the Committee only if it was re-established for a further three-year term, exactly on the same basis as before. By a vote of 54 in favour (including Canada), 1 against (Belgium), with 2 abstentions (the United Kingdom and South Africa), the Committee was re-established by the Assembly for another three-year period, i.e. until 1958, without any change in its original terms of reference.

Election of New Members

Four non-administering members (India, Iraq, Venezuela, China) were elected to the Committee for a three-year term. These members, together with Burma, Guatemala and Peru will represent the seven non-administering countries on the Committee; the seven administering countries on the Committee are: Australia, Belgium (absent), France, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the United Kingdom, and the United States.

Trust Territories

Sessions of the Trusteeship Council

In the period under review, the Trusteeship Council held four sessions, the thirteenth and fourteenth in 1954, and the fifteenth and sixteenth in 1955, all at the United Nations headquarters in New York. The Council consists² of the member states which administer trust territories and of an equal number of non-administering states. Always included in the latter group are the two permanent members of the Security Council, the U.S.S.R. and China, which do not administer trust territories; the remainder are elected by the General

¹Resolution 932 (X). ²See Appendix I.