## · ANNUAL MEETING.

The ninth annual meeting of the Club was held on Tuesday, 15th March, 1887, in the Museum of the Ottawa Literary and Scientific Society, commencing at 4.30 p.m. The President, Prof. Macoun, occupied the chair, and the following members were present, including all the council:—R. B. Whyte, Prof. Woods, James Fletcher, T. J. MacLaughlin, F. R. Latchford, W. H. Harrington, Dr. Small, Rev. Prof. Marsan, W. P. Anderson, H. M. Ami, Dr. Baptie, E. B. Bell, Fred. Magee, R. Broadbent, J. Ballantyne, J. M. Macoun, John Stewart, W. R. Billings, Mrs. Reid, R. W. Ells, E. R. Faribault, R. Chalmers, R. G. McConnell, W. McInnes, A. E. Barlow.

After the minutes had been read the Secretary presented the Annual Report of the Council, which is printed in this number, and which was adopted upon motion of Mr. Ballantyne and Mr. Anderson, after some discussion as to the proposed plan of issuing the Transactions in monthly parts, in which the following members also joined:-Dr. Small, Prof. Woods, Prof. Macoun, Mr. Fletcher and the Secretary. The Treasurer's statement (also printed in this number) showing that all expenses had been fully defrayed, including some payments for the previous year, was adopted on motion of Mr. Billings and Dr. Baptie. The Librarian reported that many valuable exchanges and donations had been received by him during the year, and that an additional brokcase was required for their reception. On motion of Mr. Fletcher and Mr. R. B. Whyte the Council was instructed to make such provision as might be found necessary for their preservation. There being no further business to transact, Prof. Macoun announced that the election of officers would be held, and that, as retiring President, he desired to state that the out-going Council had been very attentive to their duties, and had each endeavoured to do all in his power to advance the interests Mr. Broadbent and Mr. J. M. Maconn were appointed of the Club. scrutineers, and the election proceeded, resulting in the choice of the following Council:—President, R. B. Whyte: 1st Vice-President, Prof. Macoun; 2nd Vice-President, Prof. Woods; Secretary, W. H. Harrington; Treasurer, J. Fletcher; Librarian, T. J. MacLaughlin; Committee, Dr. Small, H. M. Ami, Dr. Baptie. A vote of thanks, moved by Mr. Anderson and Mr. Bell, was passed to the retiring officers, and the meeting adjourned at six p.m.