PRAYERS.

The following Petitions were severally brought up, and laid on the Table:-By the Honourable Mr. Douglas,-Of the Manitoba and Northwestern Railway Company.

By the Honourable Mr. Ross (Moosejaw),-Of the Klondyke Mines Railway Company.

By the Honourable Mr. McHugh,-Of Joseph Doust and others, of Toronto.

By the Honourable Mr. Jones,—Of Florence Sarah Gibb, of the City of Toronto— (Divorce Petition).

Pursuant to the Order of the Day, the following Petitions were severally read and received :---

Of John Hendry and others, of the City of Vancouver, in the Province of British Columbia; praying to be incorporated the Burrard, Westminster, Boundary Railway and Navigation Company.

Of Robert D. Fletcher and others, of the City of Winnipeg; praying to be incorporated the Manitoba Radial Railway Company; and

Of the Annuity Company of Canada; praying for the passing of an Act amending their Act of Incorporation.

The Honourable Mr. Gibson, from the Committee of Selection appointed to nominate the Senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present session, presented their First Report.

Ordered, That it be received, and the same was then read by the Clerk, and it is as follows:---

THE SENATE,

COMMITTEE ROOM No. 8,

THURSDAY, November 29th, 1906.

The Committee of Selection, appointed to nominate the senators to serve on the several Standing Committees for the present session, have the honour to report herewith the following lists of senators selected by them to serve on each of the said Standing Committees, namely:—

The Honourable the Speaker, and the Honourable Messieurs: Baker, Bernier, Boucherville, de, C.M.G., Cartwright, Sir Richard, G.C.M.G., Davis, Douglas, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Godbout, Cowan, Sir James Robert, K.C.M.G., Jaffray, Legris, McHugh, Miller, Poirier, Power, Wilson.—17.

The Joint Committee on the Printing of Parliament:-

The Honourable Messieurs: Bernier, Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Choquette, Cloran, Coffey, DeVeber, Dobson, Domville, Ellis, Fiset, Frost, Legris, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, Merner, Riley, Ross (Halifax), Roy, Shehyn, Talbot.—21.

The Committee on Standing Orders :---

The Honourable Messieurs: Carling, Sir John, K.C.M.G., Choquette, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Macdonald (Victoria), McGregor, McKay (Truro), Tessier, Yeo, Young.—9. The Committee on Banking and Commerce:—

The Honourable Messieurs: Bowell, Sir Mackenzie, K.C.M.G., Cartwright, Sir Richard, G.C.M.G., Casgrain (Windsor), Cox, Drummond, Sir George, K.C.M.G., Edwards, Ferguson, Forget, Gibson, Hingston, Sir William, Kt., Jaffray, Jones, Kerr, Lougheed, Macdonald (P.E.I.), Mackay (Alma), MacKeen, McDonald (Cape Breton), McGregor, McMillan, McMullen, McSweeney, Mitchell, Perley, Ross (Moosejaw), Scott, Sullivan, Thibaudeau (Rigaud), Thibaudeau (de la Vallière), Thompson, Wood, Yeo.-32.