Cap. 8.

County of Saguenay—Division.

CAP. VIII.

An Act to divide the County of Saguenay into two Municipalities.

[Assented to 5th May, 1863.]

Preamble.

22

W HEREAS it is necessary from the great distance existing beween the different settlements and the difficulty of communication in the County of Saguenay, to divide the same into two separate Municipalities; and the inhabitants of the said County have petitioned for such division, and it is expedient to grant the prayer of such petition: Therefore, Her Majesty, by and with the advice and consent of the Legislative Council and Assembly of Canada, enacts as follows:

County of Saguenay divided.

Tadousac division and chet-lieu.

Escoumains division and chef-lieu.

Councillors and electors.

1. From and after the passing of this Act, the County of Saguenay shall be, and is hereby divided into two separate Municipalities, for the purposes of the Lower Canada Consolidated Municipal Act, and there shall be no other Local Municipalities in the said County; the first division shall be called the Municipality of Tadousac, and shall comprise and include the Townships of Saguenay, Albert and Tadousac, and any other township that may be surveyed to the westward of Tadousac, or any settlements west of the said Township, that may exist before a survey takes place, and shall have its cheflieu in the village of Tadousac, in the Township of Tadousac; and the second division shall be called the Municipality of Escoumains, and shall comprise and include, the Townships of Bergeronnes, Escoumains and Iberville, and the Seigniory of Mille-Vaches, or any settlements that exist or that may take place, east of the Seigniory of Mille-Vaches, as far as Outard Point, before a survey takes place, and shall have its chef-lieu at Escoumains Village, in the Township of "Escoumains."

2. The Council of each of the said Municipalities shall consist of seven members, elected in the manner prescribed in the said Act, with respect to the members of Local Councils, by the inhabitants of the Municipality, being owners, occupants or tenants of real property therein, and shall be subject to the provisions of the said Act, with respect to Local Councils, except in so far as it is herein otherwise provided.

Each division to have a Warden. 3. The said Councils and Municipalities shall each be presided over by an officer, elected as the Mayors of Local Municipalities are under the said Act, but who shall have the title of Warden, with such of the powers of a Warden as may be consistent with this Act; and each Warden shall act as a County Delegate, and no other Delegate shall be appointed from the Municipality.

26 VICT.

4.