11868

# COMMONS DEBATES

## Borrowing Authority Act

second time and referred to a legislative committee. Is it the pleasure of the House of adopt the motion?

Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

Some Hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour will please say yea.

Some Hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some Hon. Members: Nay.

**Mr. Speaker:** In my opinion the yeas have it. And more than five Members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Shall we dispense with the ringing of the bells?

### Some Hon. Members: Agreed.

**Mr. Speaker:** The Hon. Member for Windsor West (Mr. Gray), I take it, is indicating a desire that consent be sought that the vote be applied in reverse on this question? I take it that there is unanimous consent to apply the vote in reverse—

### Ms. McDonald: No, no.

**Mr. Speaker:** —with the addition of the Hon. Secretary of State (Mr. Bouchard), the Hon. Member for Broadview-Greenwood (Ms. McDonald) and the Hon. Member for Trinity (Miss Nicholson).

**Ms. McDonald:** Mr. Speaker, I rise on a point of order. I was not present for the vote on the previous motion but I do want to vote on this one.

**Mr. Speaker:** For clarity, the Hon. Member for Broadview-Greenwood wishes her vote recorded in the negative. The Hon. Member for Trinity wishes her vote recorded in the negative. The Hon. Secretary of State wishes his vote recorded in the affirmative.

The House divided on the motion (Mrs. McDougall) which was agreed to on the following division:

## (Division No. 216)

#### *INISION* INO. 210

### YEAS Members

Bradley

Andre Attewell Bernier Bertrand Bissonnette Blais Blais-Grenier Blenkarn Bouchard Bourgault Boyer

Brightwell Brisco Cadieux Caldwell Cardiff Champagne (Saint-Hyacinthe-Bagot) Champagne (Champlain) Charest Chartrand Clark (Yellowhead) Clark (Brandon-Souris) Coates Collins Cook Cossitt Côté (Langelier)

Crofton Croshie (St. John's West) Daubney de Cotret Desjardins Dick Ferland Fontaine Forrestall Fretz Gagnon Gervais Gormley Gottselig Graham Gray (Bonaventure-Îles-dela-Madeleine) Greenaway Guilbault (Drummond) Gurbin Gustafson Halliday Hamilton Hardey Harvey Hees Hnatyshyn Hockin Howie Hudon

Allmand

Althouse

Axworthy

Blackburn

Boudria

Copps

de Jong

Dingwall

Finestone

Broadbent

Deans de Corneille

(Brant)

Angus

Berger

Members James Jardine Jelinek Jepson Johnson (Bonavista-Trinity-Conception) Joncas Jourdenais Kelleher Kempling Kindy Ladouceur Landry Lanthier Lawrence Layton Lewis Lopez MacKay Marin Mayer Mazankowski McCrossan McCuish McDermid McInnes McKinnon McKnight Merrithey Minaker Mitges Moore Nickerson Nielsen

### NAYS Members

Garneau Gauthier Gray (Windsor West) Guilbault (Saint-Jacques) Henderson Hoykins Hovdebo Isabelle Jewett Kaplan Langdon Manly McCurdy

# March 25, 1986

Nowlan O'Neil Redway Reid Reimer Ricard St. Germain St-Julien Scott (Victoria-Haliburton) Scower Shields Sparroy Stackhouse Stevens Tardif (Charlesbourg) Taylor Thacker Towers Tremblay (Ouébec-Est) Tremblay (Lothinière) Tupper Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Vankoughnet Vincent White Wilson (Swift Current-Manle Creek) Wilson (Etobicoke Centre)-119.

McDonald (Broadview Greenwood) Murphy Nicholson (Trinity) Nunziata Nystrom Riis Robichaud Robinson Rodriguez Rompkey Rossi Turner (Vancouver Quadra) Young-42

Mr. Speaker: I declare the motion carried.

Bill read the second time and referred to a legislative committee.

#### \* \* \*

# ARMY BENEVOLENT FUND ACT AND RELATED ACTS

### MEASURE TO AMEND

Hon. George Hees (Minister of Veterans Affairs) moved that Bill C-100, an Act to amend the Army Benevolent Fund Act, the Children of War Dead (Education Assistance) Act, the Compensation for Former Prisoners of War Act, the Pension Act, the Veterans' Land Act and the War Veterans Allowance Act, be read the second time and referred to a legislative committee.