- a. the defence cooperation between our two Governments as set forth in this Agreement is based on the recognition of and full respect for the sovereignty of each;
- b. the obligations of our two Governments in connection with modernization of the North American Air Defence System are subject to the availability of funds appropriated for that purpose;
- c. the Agreement between the Parties to the North Atlantic Treaty Regarding the Status of Their Forces (NATO SOFA) signed in London on June 19, 1951, shall apply;
- d. disputes other than claims failing within NATO SOFA will be settled by consultation between the Parties and not by reference to any international tribunal;
- e. supplementary arrangements or administrative agreements consistent with this Agreement may be made from time-to-time between authorized representatives of our two Governments with the objective of furthering the intent of this Agreement;
- f. our two Governments will review the agreements and arrangements currently in effect between them relating to North American Air Defence and, as appropriate, modify or terminate them; and
- g. this Agreement may be amended by mutual consent of the Parties.

If the foregoing is acceptable to your Government, I have the honour to propose that this Note and the Memorandum of Understanding signed today, which are equally authentic in English and French, and your reply to that effect, shall constitute an Agreement between our two Governments, which will enter into force on March 18, 1985, for an initial period of ten years. The Agreement shall continue in force thereafter subject to the right of either of our two Governments to terminate it by providing one year's written notice to the other. Upon notice of termination our two Governments will enter into negotiations respecting the disposition to be made of facilities and installations and costs associated therewith.

Accept, Sir, the assurances of my highest consideration.

JOE CLARK Secretary of State for External Affairs.

The Honourable George P. Shultz, Secretary of State of the United States of America.