ative

every other

S. e shall ect to all be

be re-

Synod uested

recom-, shall of the

a Com-XVII., y, shall ee; and h Comabsence

37

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEES.

I.—There shall be a standing Executive Committee appointed by the Synod, to consist of the Bishop, Coadjutor Bishop, or, when there be no Coadjutor Bishop, the Bishop's Commissary, five Clerical and six Lay members, of whom five members shall be a quorum, of which quorum the Bishop, Coadjutor Bishop, or the Bishop's Commissary, shall always be one, except in the contingency referred to in the 3rd Rule of the Constitution.

II.—At each biennial Session of the Synod, the two Clerical and the two Lay members of the Committee, whose names respectively shall stand at the head of the list, shall go out of office, and the Synod shall fill up the vacancies; but all such members shall be eligible for re-appointment. If any vacancy shall occur between the sessions of the Synod, it shall be provisionally filled up by the Clerical or Lay members of the Committee, as the case may be, such appointment to be subject to the approval of the Synod at its next meeting.

III.—The Synod, by its standing Executive Committee, may accept and hold, sell, exchange, let, manage, or otherwise dispose of real and personal property for the religious, charitable, educational, and other objects thereof, subject, nevertheless, to any special trusts existing or created at the time of transfer, or subsequently created by the Synod; and the Executive Committee may, by its Chairman, execute any deeds and other documents on behalf of the Synod, and use its Corporate Seal.