MISCELLANEOUS.

ol :0-

rs olet-

s.

 \mathbf{er}

1-

n-

3-

al

ıe

er

e

h

- 1. A Federal Union is a union of states or provinces under one central government, each state, however, having a Legislature of its own for local matters. (Canada and the United States are examples of a Federal Union.)
- 2. A Legislative Union is a union of states or provinces under one central government. (Great Britain and Ireland form a Legislative Union.)
- 3. The Ministry is the body of men who advise the Crown and otherwise carry on the government. It is also known by such names as Cabinet, Administration, Privy Council, Ministers of the Crown and Executive Council.
- 4. To adjourn parliament is to dismiss the members to meet again at a certain time, when they may resume any unfinished business.
- 6. To prorogue parliament is to close it and the end of a Session. Any unfinished business held over for another Session must be taken up as if nothing had been done about it.
- 6. To dissolve parliament is to dismiss the members and call a new election.
- 7. The Journals of the House (Hansard) are the books in which are kept the minutes, or records, of the work done each day by the House.