• (3:00 p.m.)

That is why we do not want the committee to sit while the house is sitting and this, all the more so, because a most important supply motion is coming up today, which was not expected two or three days ago. We therefore object to committee sittings for the next two days, during the regular sittings of the house.

[English]

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. Unfortunately the hon. member for Hochelaga cannot speak now without the unanimous consent of the house, because this is not a substantive motion. Therefore he does not have the right of reply, nor does he have the right to close the debate on the motion. The only thing I can do now is to put the motion to the house.

Mr. Knowles: On a point of order, Mr. Speaker. In view of the fact that the hon. member for Hochelaga did not avail himself of the opportunity to speak when he moved the motion, I wonder if the house would not let him make his speech now.

Mr. Speaker: Is it agreed?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

[Translation]

Mr. Pelletier: Mr. Speaker, a brief remark to say that, unlike what was just advanced by the hon. member who spoke before me, it has always been implicit in the proceedings of the committee that it did not seek to settle any particular dispute, namely that submitted to mediation as a result of the good offices of the government, but rather to explore the much larger and much more important situation of which this particular dispute was only symptomatic.

Mr. Speaker: Is the house ready for the question? Is it the wish of the house to adopt the said motion?

Some hon. Members: Carried.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Speaker: Order, please. All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen: Korchinski Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

Division

The house divided on the motion (Mr. Pelletier) which was agreed to on the following division:

Messrs:

Laniel Andras LeBlanc (Rimouski) Badanai Leboe Ballard Lefebvre Barnett Basford Legault Batten Lessard Béchard Lewis Bell (Saint John-Albert) Lind Loney Benson MacEachen Berger MacInnis (Mrs.) Boulanger (Vancouver-Kingsway) Bower Mackasey Brewin MacLean (Queens) Brown MacRae Byrne Cadieux (Terrebonne) McCleave McIlraith Cameron (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) McKinley McLelland Cantelon McNulty Cantin McWilliam Cashin Madill Marchand Chatterton Martin (Essex East) Chrétien Churchill Martin (Timmins) Mather Clancy Clermont Matte Coates Mongrain Muir (Cape Breton Code North and Victoria) Crouse Danforth Muir (Lisgar) Deachman Munro Diefenbaker Nicholson Dinsdale Nielsen Drury Nixon Dubé Noble Duquet Nowlan Émard O'Keefe Éthier Orange Fairweather Orlikow Favreau Pascoe Forbes Pelletier Pépin Fulton Gilbert Pickersgill Pilon Grafftev Grav Rapp Régimbal Greene Guay Ricard Gundlock Richard Haidasz Rinfret Robichaud Hales Hamilton Rock Roxburgh Hees Hellver Schreyer Scott (Victoria (Ont.)) Herridge Horner (The Battlefords) Sharp Howard Southam Howe (Hamilton South) Stafford Hymmen Stanbury Isabelle Starr Johnston Stefanson Jorgenson Stewart Tardif Kindt. Teillet Knowles Thomas (Maisonneuve-

Rosemont)

Thompson

LaMarsh (Miss)

Langlois (Chicoutimi)