Telesat Canada Act

not always be "concentrated" in such a way that they reveal a perpetual conflict between the interests of Quebec in particular and those of Canada.

This game should be stopped and this is why we ask the minister to clarify his position on this subject. He must tell us exactly what negotiations went on with the provinces. How does Quebec feel about this? Let us not, once again, create a situation which will lead to an enormous amount of bickering particularly in the province of Quebec.

Mr. Speaker, I end my remarks by saying that the minister, who is a former member of the Quebec government, is perhaps better able to understand these things and to give us explanations before this bill is referred to the committee.

[English]

Mr. Speaker: Is the house ready for the question on the amendment?

Some hon. Members: Question.

Mr. Speaker: All those in favour of the amendment will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Speaker: All those opposed will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Speaker: In my opinion the nays have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Speaker: Call in the members.

The house divided on the amendment (Mr. Schreyer) which was negatived on the following division:

• (4:30 p.m.)

YEAS

Messrs:

Beaudoin Dionne Douglas (Nanaimo-Cowichan-The Islands) Fortin Gilbert Godin Harding Knowles (Winnipeg North Centre) Laprise [Mr. Matte.]

Lewis MacInnis (Mrs.) Mather Rodrigue Rose Saltsman Schreyer Tétrault Winch—19. Alexander Alkenbrack Anderson Andras Baldwin Basford Béchard Bell Bigg Blair Blouin Borrie Breau Brown Cafik Carter Chappell Clermont Coates Code Comeau Comtois Corbin Côté (Longueuil) Crossman Crouse Cullen Cyr Deakon De Bané Dinsdale Downey Duquet Emard Flemming Forest Forget Gendron Gibson Givens Gray Guilbault Gundlock Haidasz Hales Hogarth Honey Hopkins Hymmen Isabelle Jamieson Jerome Kierans Knowles (Norfolk-Haldimand) Lachance Lambert (Edmonton West) Lang Langlois Laniel Leblanc (Laurier) Lefebvre Legault Lessard (LaSalle) Lundrigan Macdonald (Rosedale)

Messrs: MacEachen MacEwan MacInnis MacLean Macquarrie McCutcheon McGrath McIlraith McNulty Mahoney Marceau Marchand (Kamloops-Cariboo) Monteith Muir (Cape Breton-The Sydneys) Murphy Nesbitt Noble Noël Orange Ouellet Paproski Pelletier Penner Perrault Pilon Portelance Prud'homme Ricard Richard Ritchie Roberts Robinson Rochon Rock Roy (Timmins) Rynard Scott Serré Simpson Smith (Northumberland-Miramichi) Stafford Stanfield Stewart (Cochrane) Stewart (Marquette) Stewart (Okanagan-Kootenay) St-Pierre Sullivan Thomas (Moncton) Thompson Tolmie Trudeau Trudel Turner (London East) Turner (Ottawa-Carleton) Wahn Walker Watson Weatherhead Whelan Whiting Woolliams Yanakis—128.

NAYS