arch 23, 1990

ON

ople who

Gill and

nite, James orkers who who all those Student cosing the

rogram

CIK

TORY:

RTON

assics at finterest Aristotle.

22

ORIS ORIS SPORT PORT SPORTS SP

NB UNB UNB UNB UNL B UNB UNB U UNB UNB UN UN B UNB UN UNE INB UNB UN UNB UN NB UNB L UNI INB B UNB UN UNB UNB UN INB UN UN UNB ONB U UNB U

Co-Editors: Tim Lynch and Mark Sawoie

SPORTS DESK 453-4983

DEADLINE: Tuesday, noon

A Year Of Excellence

by Kelly Craig

A year of excellence in UNB ports came to an end Wednesday night, March 21 with the UNB Athletics banquet. The athletic community of UNB was honoured for their exceptional contributions over the 1989-1990 season. Six AUAA Championship titles out of twelve varsity sports were won by UNB teams. The Women's Field Hockey team, the Women's Basketball team, the Beavers' Swim teams, the Wrestling team, and the Men's Cross Country team each came away with AUAA titles this season.

This year of athletics was a mark of great achievement not only by the athletes but by the coaches as well. Joyce Slipp, Rick Hull, Claire Mitton, and Bruce Fisher were awarded the AUAA Coach of the Year Awards for their contributions to athletics. Also, recognition must be given to Coach Mike Johnston for his rejuvenation of the Red Devils hockey team. A tremendous amount of time and energy was given by all of UNB's coaches and they deserve recognition for their outstanding work.

At the end of the athletic year all UNB coaches, athletes, and the support staff are rewarded for their dedication to UNB athletics. The teams are rewarded for their patience over the past year and their diligence. What follows are the results of the past year of achievement by UNB athletes.

A truly successful year of athletics was enjoyed by all basketball fans thanks to the Red Bloomers. The Red Bloomers had an exciting season of basketball to end up with the AUAA title. Pauline Lordon was named team MVP, as well as AUAA MVP. Pauline also joined Kara Palmer and Jennifer Hale as AUAA All-Stars. Tracy Lordon was name as the Bloomer Rookie of the Year. Stacey Robertson was voted Most Improved Player for the Bloomers and the Trainer Award was received by Kim DesRoches.

The UNB Beavers managed a very successful season as both the men and women brought the AUAA title to UNB. There was little surprise when Chris Hashimoto was awarded the female MVP award. Chris swam very well all season long and established many

swimming records over the past year. Brian Woods was the Male MVP of the Beavers team, as he made it to the CIAU's this year. Peggy Ackerl and Paul Halmazna were awarded the Female and Male Rookie of the Year Awards respectively. AUAA Champions for the Beavers were Chris Hashimoto, Peggy Ackerl, Kathleen Naylor, Edie Fisher, Joy Lordon, Mark Weber, Brian Woods, Paul Halmazna, Mike Hawkes, Derek Smith, Phil Chaplin and Sean Penney. Noll Ridgeway received the Manager Award and Kim Crossman received the Trainer Award. Kathleen Naylor and Bruce MacAulay were the Most Improved Swimmers.

Joyce Slipp and her Red Sticks showed the true meaning of competition with a winning season up to and including the AUAA's. Peter Tracy was awarded the Trainer Award for the Red Sticks. Joan Robere had a truly exceptional season of field hockey for the Sticks. Joan was awarded the AUAA MVP award, AUAA All-Star. She was a member of the Atlantic Indoor team, team MVP, and Most Improved Player. Kelly McCormack was named team and AUAA Rookie of the Year. She and Josette Babineau were AUAA All-Stars along with Joan. Sheila Bell, Tanya Whalen, Nancy Peppier, Josette Babineau, and Joan were all members of the Atlantic Indoor team.

After three years of coaching the Black Bears, Coach Multamaki brought his team to victory this year. Stacey DesRoches, Don Ryan, and Sean Dockrill were each AUAA winners in theirindividual weight classes. Stephen Doucet was named Black Bear Rookie of the Year and Don Ryan was voted Most Valuable Wrestler for the Bears. Don came away with the gold medal at the AUAA's and a strong fourth place finish at the CIAU's.

The UNB Red Shirts played their way into the final of the AUAA Championship. Unfortunately, the Shirts lost a tough final game to the St. Mary's Huskies. Throughout the entire season the shirts displayed enduring sportsmanship and represented UNB sports successfully.

Stewart Galloway was voted as the AUAA MVP and as an



Joan Robere, Stewart Galloway, and Pauline Lordon Proudly display their hardware won at Wenesday night's UNB Athletic Banquet

AUAA All-Star. Stewart was also presented with the Cannon W. J. Clarke Award for the top defensive player. Jamie Oakes was named as an AUAA All-Star along with team mate Jamie Pollock. Jamie Pollock was awarded the Cannon W. J. Clarke Award for the top forward.

The Red Harriers enjoyed a split season as the men's team copped the AUAA title and the Women's team came in a respectable second in the AUAA. Tracey Shanks and Bill Sheel were named the Rookies of the Year for the Harriers. Garn Pomeroy and Heather Eagle were voted as the Most Improved Runners on the Harriers. Michelle Cormier and Rod Clarke were awarded the team Most Valuable Runners of the Harriers.

Coach Mike Johnston had a superb season as new head coach of the Red Devils hockey team. As everyone recalls, last season was not very successful; however, this season far outweighed the difficulties of last season. The Devils had a strong season of hockey that promises to be just as strong

next year.

John Ward was given the Manager Award for the Red Devils. Scott MacDonald was voted as an AUAA All-Star as

well as team MVP. Ken Murchison was named as the Devil Rookie of the Year and as co-MVP. The Top Defensive Forward Award was given to Hugh Hospodar and Jamie Lehman received the Peter Violette Memorial Award for Outstanding defensemen.

The UNB Rebels Volleyball team played a marvellous season of volleyball to finish second in the AUAA's. Guy Gallibois, Claude Cullinan, and Mark Thorne were named as team MVPs. The UNB. Lady Reds Volleyball team came under a new coach this year and did very well in AUAA competition. Robb Elliott received the Trainer Award for the Reds. Most Valuable Player award went to Meredith Mladineo, who had a very consistent season of volleyball. Rookie of the Year went to Shelly Duguay.

Finally, the UNB Red Raiders basketball enjoyed a truly improved season of play. The dedication and effort put forth by the Raiders team all season is a true compliment to the quality of sports here at UNB. Record wise the Raiders lacked but their integrity and hard work made them an exciting team to watch. Glen Read enjoyed a tremendously successful season which earned

him the team's Most Valuable Player award. Roy Cocciollo started for the team this year as a freshman after being absent the year before due to illness. Roy was awarded the Rookie of the Year award for his outstanding contribution to the Raiders. Team Manager Award went to Kevin Lamb.

The Red Raiders proved that anything can happed in the AUAA's. Their determination to give their best all season was exemplified by all UNB teams. The past year of athletics has been an enjoyable one for the UNB community. Success has been the motto of the Athletic Department this past season. Everyone involved with sports at UNB are commended for their participation.

To finish off the awards given, the Athletic Distinction Awards were presented. The Colin B. MacKay Shield for Female Athlete of the Year Award went to Joan Robere. Joan has put forth excellence all year both on and off the field. The James Downey shield for Male Athlete of the Year Award went to a truly exceptional Athlete, Stewart Galloway. For the past five years Stewart has given 110%

Continued on page 36