Mr. Archibald served the same company for five years as its President. From 1977 to 1980, he was Managing Director of Britex predecessor company, United Elastic Ltd. Mr. Archibald is on the Executive Committee of the Nova Scotia chapter of the Canadian Manufacturers Association, and one of its former Chairman. He will be joining the National Board of the CMA next June. Mr. Archibald is also President of the Annapolis Valley Affiliated Boards of Trade; Director of the Nova Scotia Voluntary Planning Board; and President of Fundy Ventures Ltd., a Nova Scotia venture capital firm.

Apparel and Fur

Chairman: Mr. Peter Nygard Chairman and President Nygard International

In 1966, Mr. Nygard joined the garment industry with Jacob Fashion Ltd. of Winnipeg, and within a year became a full partner and renamed the company Tan Jay Ltd. Three years later, Mr. Nygard bought the company and concentrated on developing North American sales and product expansion to become one of the largest manufacturer and distributor of ladies wear apparel in Canada with offices and factories in Winnipeg. In 1977, Tan Jay expanded into the United States market including a manufacturing site located in Southern California. Today, the company is known as Nygard International and has operations in Winnipeg, Montreal, Vancouver, Toronto, California, New York, the Orient and Europe.

Consumer and Household Products

Chairman: Mr. Pierre Lortie
President and Chief Executive Officer
Provigo Inc.

After graduation with an M.B.A. from the University of Chicago in 1974, Mr. Lortie started his career as Director of Development, Montreal Stock Exchange to become one year later its Vice-President - Development. In 1976-77 Mr. Lortie worked as President, A. Prud'homme & Fils Ltée, Prud'homme Services Ltée, J.S. Parkes. From 1977 until 1981, Mr. Lortie was a Senior Partner with SECOR Inc., and then from 1981 until his appointment in his current position with Provigo Inc., he served as President, the Montreal Stock Exchange. Mr. Lortie is also Chairman, Quebec Committee of the C.D. Howe Research Institute;