The Committee met at 2.30 o'clock p.m. The Chairman, Hon. Walter Harris, presided.

Members present: Messrs. Applewhaite, Argue, Blair, Decore, Denis, Dewar, Diefenbaker, Fair, Fleming, Fulton, Gauthier (Sudbury), Gauthier (Portneuf), Harkness, Harris, (Grey-Bruce), Johnston, Kirk (Antigonish-Guysborough), Knowles, MacNaught, McCubbin, McIlraith, McWilliam, Mott, Murphy, Murray (Cariboo), Nowlan, Picard, Smith (Moose Mountain), Viau, Welbourn, Whiteside, Whitman, Winkler.

In attendance: Mr. Nelson Castonguay, Chief Electoral Officer.

The Committee resumed consideration of the schedule to the proposed bill to readjust the Representation in the House of Commons.

Mr. Gauthier (*Portneuf*), for Mr. Picard, convenor, on behalf of the Province of Quebec sub-committee, presented the Eighth Report as follows:

Your sub-committee has agreed upon the boundaries of the following electoral districts in the city of Montreal as follows:

- 1. CARTIER consisting of those parts of the city of Montreal and of the city of Outremont bounded by a line commencing at the intersection of Hutchison Street with the C.P.R. main track; thence easterly following the C.P.R. main track to St. Lawrence Boulevard; thence southeasterly following St. Lawrence Boulevard to Mount Royal Avenue; thence northeasterly following Mount Royal Avenue to City Hall Avenue; thence southeasterly following City Hall Avenue to Rachel Street; thence northeasterly following Rachel Street to St. Denis Street; thence southeasterly following St. Denis Street to Roy Street; thence southwesterly following Roy Street to St. Lawrence Boulevard; thence northwesterly following St. Lawrence Boulevard to Rachel Street; thence southwesterly following Rachel Street to de L'Esplanade Avenue; thence northwesterly following de L'Esplanade Avenue to Mount Royal Avenue; thence southwesterly following Mount Royal Avenue to Cote Ste. Catherine Road; thence westerly following Cote Ste. Catherine Road to St. Joseph Boulevard; thence northeasterly following St. Joseph Boulevard to Querbes Avenue: thence northwesterly following Querbes Avenue to St. Viateur Street; thence northeasterly following St. Viateur Street to Hutchison Street; thence northwesterly following Hutchison Street to the point of commencement.
- 2. OUTREMONT-ST. JEAN consisting of those parts of the city of Outremont, the city of Montreal and of the town of Mount Royal bounded by a line commencing at the intersection of the southeasterly prolongation of Henri Julien Avenue with the C.P.R. main track; thence northwesterly along said prolongation of Henri Julien Avenue, and Henri Julien Avenue to Jean Talon Street; thence southwesterly following Jean Talon Street to the northern limit of the town of Mount Royal; thence easterly and southerly following said northern limit and the eastern limit of the town of Mount Royal to its intersection with the C.P.R. main track; thence southwesterly following the C.P.R. main track to the prolongation of Darlington Avenue; thence southerly following said prolongation and Darlington Avenue to Cote Ste. Catherine Road;