In addition to customs tariffs and other charges on imports and exports, the negotiations may include the following: mixing regulations, tariff quotas and protection afforded through the operation of import and export monopolies. Accordingly, requests may be submitted for concessions in respect of these matters in the same way as requests for tariff concessions.

Negotiations by the United States will be governed by their Reciprocal Trade Agreements Act. Under this Act, the President of the United States is empowered to reduce tariffs on dutiable imports by not more than 50 per cent of the rates in force on January 1, 1945. Accordingly, any items which were reduced to this extent as a result of the Annecy or Geneva negotiations cannot be reduced further at this time.

Although briefs are not required to follow a precise outline, the following points may be of assistance to firms and organizations wishing to submit representations:

- (1) The general purpose of the proposed negotiations is the reduction of trade barriers and the expansion of world trade. Accordingly representations should devote particular attention to the possibilities of enlarging the access of Canadian industry to external markets.
- (2) The negotiations will be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade and the Havana Trade Charter.
- (3) It is desirable that briefs contain a concise statement regarding:
 - (a) concessions which Canada should seek from the participating countries including a clear description of the products involved;
 - (b) items on which tariff concessions by Canada might be desirable or undesirable.

Canada will have an opportunity to negotiate with the following countries which are at present parties to the General Agreement or which are expected to adhere as a result of the Annecy negotiations:

Australia France Dominican Republic Benelux (i.e. Belgium India Finland New Zenland Netherlands and Greece Luxemburg) Norway Haiti Brazil Pakistan Italy Southern Rhodesia Burma Liberia Syria-Lebenon Union Ceylon Nicaragua Chile Union of South Africa Sweden United Kingdom China Unuguay United States Cuba Denmark Czechoslovakia