CONSTITUTION AND BYE-LAWS OF THE

NATURAL HISTORY SOCIETY

OF NEW BRUNSWICK.

(ADOPTED 17th JAN., 1882)

ARTICLE I.

OF ITS OBJECTS.

The Natural History Society of New Brunswick is established for the purpose of promoting the study of the Physical Sciences, for effecting the formation of a general and Provincial Museum, and a Scientific Library, and for the purpose of facilitating the acquirement and dissemination of useful knowledge.

ARTICLE II.

OF ITS CONSTITUTION.

1. The Society shall consist of five classes, namely: Ordinary Members, Members for Life, Corresponding Members, Honorary Members, and Associate Members.

2. Members shall be persons desirous of forwarding the objects of the Society.

3. Corresponding Members shall be persons residing at least ten miles from the City of St. John.

4. Members for life shall be persons who may make donations of \$40 in money, in articles for the Museum, or books for the library (the two latter to be valued by competent persons); or who may be elected as such at the annual general meeting of the Society, for important services performed, and after due notice has been given.

5. Honorary Members shall be persons of high standing, who are eminent for their scientific attainments.

6. Associate Members shall consist of Ladies who shall be instituted by the Council.

7. The Officers of the Society shall consist of a President, two Vice-Presidents, a Treasurer, a Corresponding Secretary, Recording Secretary, a Librarian, and three Curators; all of whom shall be elected annually from the ordinary members, and shall be re-eligible.