ARTICLE 3

Taxes Covered

- 1. The taxes which are the subject of this Agreement are:
 - (a) in Canada, all taxes imposed or administered by the Government of Canada;
 - in Brunei Darussalam, all taxes imposed or administered by the Government of Brunei Darussalam.
- 2. This Agreement shall also apply to any identical taxes imposed after the date of entry into force of this Agreement in addition to or in place of the existing taxes. This Agreement shall also apply to any substantially similar taxes imposed after the date of entry into force of this Agreement in addition to or in place of the existing taxes if the competent authorities of the Contracting Parties so agree. Furthermore, the taxes covered may be expanded or modified by mutual agreement of the Contracting Parties in the form of an exchange of letters. The competent authorities of the Contracting Parties shall notify each other of any substantial changes to the taxation and related information gathering measures covered by this Agreement.

ARTICLE 4

Definitions

- 1. For the purposes of this Agreement, unless otherwise defined:
 - (a) the term "Brunei Darussalam" means the territory of Brunei Darussalam including its territorial sea, extending to the airspace above such territory, over which it exercises sovereignty, and the maritime area beyond its territorial sea, including sea-bed and subsoil, which has been or may hereafter be designated under the laws of Brunei Darussalam as an area over which it exercises sovereign rights and jurisdiction in accordance with international law;
 - (b) the term "Canada", used in a geographical sense, means:
 - the land territory, air space, internal waters and territorial sea of Canada;
 - (ii) the exclusive economic zone of Canada, as determined by its domestic law, consistent with Part V of the *United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea* of 10 December 1982; and