OTHER GOVERNMENT ORGANISATIONS AND ASSOCIATIONS

A. THE MINISTRY OF TRADE AND INDUSTRY

The functions of the Ministry of Trade and Industry are carried out by the following Divisions and Registries:

- 1. Administration and Finance Division
- 2. Bumiputra Participation Division
- 3. Consumer Affairs Division
- 4. Data Processing Division
- 5. Domestic Trade Division
- 6. Enforcement Division
- 7. Industries Division
- 8. International Trade Division
- 9. Metric Division
- 10. Small Enterprises Division
- 11. Registry of Business
- 12. Registry of Companies
- 13. Registry of Trade Marks and Patents

The following four statutory bodies are also associated with the Ministry:

0	Malaysian Industrial Development Authority	(MIDA)
0	National Film Development Corporation	(FINAS)
0	National Productivity Centre	(NPC)
0	Tourist Development Corporation	(TDC)

The activities of the main division of the Ministry are as follows:

o Bumiputra Participation Division

This division was established to accelerate and achieve 30 percent bumiputra (indigenous people) participation in all fields of trade and industry. To achieve this, the Division formulates strategies to attain the aims of the New Economic Policy and studies and identifies sectors of trade and industry which bumiputra entrepreneurs can venture into.