for "named" and one for "un-named" plants. The first prize in the "un-named" was awarded to Miss A. Van Horne, who succeeded in securing forty-six varieties of plants. Miss Ritchie took second prize with forty-three varieties. In the named section, Mr. E. H. P. Blackadder, who had collected forty-eight specimens, carried off the first prize, and Miss F. M. Girdwood took second prize with forty-five specimens. In the Entomological department Mr. R. C. Holden obtained first prize, and Miss Rose Edwards took second honours.

The proceedings were brought to a close by addresses from from Sir J. W. Dawson, and Dr. Hunt. The party departed from Abbottsford at six o'clock, and arrived in the city at nine, after having passed one of the most enjoyable and instructive exploring days in the annals of the Natural History Society. The success of the event was largely due to Mr. Chas. Gibb, who was untiring in his exertions, and whose services were deservedly recognized by the Council in a special resolution of thanks at its meeting in June.

The Society has decided to hold its next Field Day at St. Hilaire, on the 5th of June, and it is hoped that it will be as successful as the last.

The Sommerville lectures—seven in number—were delivered in the following order:—Feb. 4th, "Antiseptics and Disinfectants," by Alfred H. Mason, Esq., F.C.S., F.S.Sc.; Feb. 11th, "The Chalk Formation," by Rev. W. J. Smyth, M.A., Ph. D.; Feb. 18th, "The Source of Igneous Rocks," by Thos. Macfarlane, Esq., F.R.S.C.; Feb. 25th, "The Chemistry of Bread and other Farinaceous Foods," by Casey A. Wood, C.M., M.D., March 4th, "Cotton and Cotton Manufactures," by William Hobbs, Esq.; March 11th, "Breathing and Ventilation," by J. B. McConnell, M.D.; March 18th, "The History of a Modern Volcano," by Sir William Dawson, LL.D., F.R.S.

The attendance at the lectures was large, and the thanks of the Society are due to the gentlemen who favoured the public with such an interesting series.

The Council takes great pride in being able to record the election of our worthy President, Sir J. William Dawson, to