Members returned.

District of St. John's, East-John Kent, Robert John Parsons, Peter Winser.

- " St. John's, West-John Fox, Ambrose Shea, P. F. Lity Le.
- " Harbor Grace-James L. Prendergast, John Hayward
- " Carbonear—Edmund Hanrahan.
- " Brigus and Port-de-Grave-Robert Brown.
- " Bay-de-Verds-John Bemister.
- " Harbor Maine—THOMAS BYRNE, WILLIAM TALBOT.
- " Ferryland-Thomas Glen, Edward D. Shea.
- " St. Mary's and Placentia—George J. Hogsett, Michael John Kelly, John Delaney.
- " Burin-CLEMENT BENNING, PATRICK MORRIS.
- " Fortune Bay-Hugh W. Hoyles.
- " Trinity-Stephen March, John Winter, F. B. T. Carter.
- "Bonavista—Robert Carter, John H. Warren, Marthew W. Walbank.
- " Fogo-William Henry Ellis, Thomas Knight.

By virtue of a Commission under the Great Seal of this Island, to the Honorables E. M. Archibald, Her Majesty's Attorney General, Joseph Noad, and Laurence O'Brien, which is as follows:—

Dedimus Potestatem.

VICTORIA, by the Grace of GOD, of the United Kingdom of Great Britain is and Ireland, Queen, Defender of the Fai. th.

To all to whom these Presents shall come, Greeting:

Know Ye that We have constituted and appointed, and by these presents do constitute and appoint, the Honorables Edward Mortimer, Archibald, Joseph Noad, and Lawrence O'Brien, Members of our Council of Our Island of Newfoundland, to be Commissioners, they or either of them, jointly or severally to administer the Oath of Allegiance to all and to every person and persons who is, are, or shall be a member or members of the General Assembly of our said Island, appointed by Proclamation of our Administrator of the Government, to be holden at St. John's on the 22nd day of this instant Month of May, giving to them, or either of them, our said Commissioners, full power and authority to perform the matters hereinbefore mentioned, ratifying and confirming all and whatsoever