

DUBLIC INSTRUCTION in Montrey (as in the Province of Quebec generally) is under the supervision of two distinct bodies,—the one representing the Roman Catholic, the other the Protestant part of the population.

McGILL UNIVERSITY.

This University, directed by its Governors and Corporation, was originally founded and endowed by the Hon. James McGill in 1811, and received a Royal Charter as a University in 1821. It is a non-denominational Protestant institution, and proposes no religious tests to its students.

Liberal contributions from wealthy citizens have been bestowed from time to time in augmentation of the original endowment. By the revenue thus created it maintains a Faculty of Arts, with 12 professors and 140 students; a Department of Practical and Applied Science, subordinate to the Faculty of Arts, with 26 students and 4 professors; a Faculty of Medicine, with 15 professors and 160 students; and a Faculty of Law, with 11 professors and 100 students.

The courses of study in Arts, Applied Science, and Medicine extend over four years; that in Law over three years. The primary degrees given are B.A., App. Sci., M.D., and B.C.L.

Morrin College, Quebec, is affiliated with the University, and in the City of Montreal there are two affiliated Theological Colleges, whose students attend lectures in the Faculty of Arts, while receiving their theological training in their own Colleges. Two other Theological Colleges not affiliated to the University send students to attend its classes.