CANADIAN FORESTRY ASSOCIATION.

Patron, His Excellency the Governor General.

Honcrary Pres., Sir Wilfrid Laurier.

President, Geo. Y. Chown, B.A.

Vice-President, John Hendry.

Secretary, Jas. Lawler, Canadian Building, Slater St., Ottawa.

Asst. Secretary, F. W. H. Jacombe. Treasurer, Miss Marion Robinson.

Ireasurer, Miss Marion Robinson. Directors: Wm. Little, Hiram Robinson, Aubrey White, E. G. Joly de Lotbiniere, E. Stewart, H. M. Price, W. B. Snowball, Thomas Southworth, Hon. W. C. Edwards, Hon. Sydney Fisher, R. H. Campbell, J. B. Miller, W. A. Charlton, Gordon C. Edwards, Dr. B. E. Fernow. Ellwood Wilson, R. L. Borden, M. P., F. C. Whitman, G. C. Piché, Alex. MacLaurin, Carl Riordon, Mgr. O. E. Mathieu, A. P. Stevenson Wm. Pearce, Wm. Power, C. E. E. Ussher, Denis Murphy, C. Jackson Booth, Wm. Price, M.P., and J. W. Harkom.

Provincial Vice-Presidents :

Ontario-Hon. Frank Cochrane, Toronto.

Quebec-Hon. Jules Allard, Quebec.

New Brunswick-Hon. W. C. H. Grimmer, Fredericton.

Nova Scotia-Hon. A. K. Maclean, Halifax.

Prince Edward Is and-A. B. Warburton, M.P., Charlottetown.

Manitoba-Hon, R.P. Roblin, Winnipeg.

Saskatchewan-Hon. A. E. Forget, Regina.

Alberta-Hon. A. L. Sifton, Edmonton.

British Columbia-Hon. H. Bostock, Monte Creek.

Mackenzie-F. D. Wilson. Fort Vermilion, Alta.

Yukon-Alex. Henderson, Commissioner, Dawson.

Keewatin-His Honour Sir Daniel H. McMillan, Winnipeg.

His Grace Mgr. Bruchesi, Archbishop of Ungava - H Montreal.

THE FORESTER'S RETURN.

Denver Republican.

I'm back on the job by the singing river,

Far from the town with its moneymad,

- Back where the quaking aspens quiver-And I'm glad.
- I'm back to the shack where the trail is winding

'Mid flowers of every scent and hue, And I felt when I gazed, the hot tears

blinding-Wouldn't you?

I'm back to the creak of the good old saddle,

To the equine friends that never doubt; to the haunts-with canoe and Back

paddle-

Of the trout.

- There's work to do, and there's work in plenty,
 - And we sleep in the open, if fate so wills,
- But no man is more than one-and-twenty In the hills.

THE CANADIAN FORESTRY ASSOCI-ATION

is the national organization for the informing of public opinion in the effort to secure a rational development of the Canadian Forests through the co-operation of national, provincial and municipal organizations and private enterprises. The objects of the Association are:

(1) The exploration of the public domain, so that lands unsuitable for agriculture may be reserved for timber production.
(2) The preservation of the forests for their influence on climate, soil and water supply
(3) The promotion of judicious methods in dealing with forests and woodlands.
(4) Tree planting on the plains, and on streets and hiehways.

(i) The value of the particular of the particular of the value of the valu general.

To promote these ends the Association publishes the Canadian Forestry Journal, issues bulletins, arranges for the delivery of free illustrated public lectures, and holds conventions in different parts of Canada.

The Association desires as members all (both men and women) who are in sym-pathy with this work. The membership fee, which entitles the member to the Journal, the annual report and other literature issued, is one dollar per year, (life membership \$10). Applications for mempership or requests for information may be addressed to the

Secretary, Canadian Forestry Association, Canadian Building, Ottawa, Canada.

FORESTRY COMMITTEE.

The House of Commons Committee on Forests, Waterways and Waterpowers for the current session of Parliament consists of the following twenty-six members:-Messrs. Arthurs, Béland, Boyce, Campbell, Carvell, Chew, Currie (Prince Edward), Edwards, Fisher, Fowke, Haggart (Lan-ark), MacNutt, McLean (Sudbury), Ma-grath, Molloy, Monk, Perley, Pickup, Price, Richards, Savoie, Sifton, Tobin, White Richards, Savoie, Sifton, Tobin, White (Renfrew), White (Victoria, Alta.), and Wilson (Laval). Ten members form a quorum.

The proposal to add forestry as a subject of examination in the Final Honours School of Natural Science at Oxford University has for the present been defeated, Convocation rejecting it by a majority of seven votes.

The committee of the Ontario Experimental Union on Forestry for 1911-1912 is composed of the following: E. J. Zavitz (director), H. R. MacMillan and E. C. Drury.