

Harvesting in Western Canada

the struggle. In 1713 what is now the mainland of Nova Scotia was ceded to Great Britain. Finally the British sent over Wolfe with a strong force, and in 1759 captured Quebec. Four years later, by the Treaty of Paris, the French king, Louis XIV, transferred all Canada to Great Britain. At the taking of Quebec, both Montcalm, the French general, and Wolfe fell.

Ever since this time Canada has remained loyal to the British crown. About ten years after the Treaty of Paris the British colonies on the Atlantic seaboard rebelled and formed the United States of America.

When the motherland acknowledged the independence of these colonies about 25,000 loyal British subjects moved over into Canada to live beneath the folds of the Union Jack.

CONFEDERATION.

In 1867, when there were three and one-half million people settled in Canada, the four Provinces now known as Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia united to form a confederation which is called the Dominion of Canada. It was also provided that other portions of British North America might unite with Canada. The Dominion adopted the same form of government as exists in the motherland. There is a Governor-General appointed by the King to represent him,

TORONTO

TOR

two Houses of Parliament, and a Cabinet. As each Province has a Legislature of its own to manage its local affairs, it is just as if England, Scotland, Wales, and Ireland had separate Parliaments, in addition to that at Westminster. During the six years, 1867-73, other portions of British North America, except Newfoundland, became part of the Dominion. Canada has thus become really a "daughter nation" of Great Britain. The motherland leaves her free to manage all her own local affairs.

Canada visited by Cabot, 1497; Jacques Cartier sails up St.

HISTORICAL SUMMARY.

Lawrence, 1535; Port Royal (now Annapolis, Nova Scotia) founded, 1605; Quebec founded by Champlain, 1608. Royal French Government established, 1663 Acadia (Nova Scotia, except Cape Breton) becomes British, 1713 (Treaty of Utrecht); Halifax founded by British, 1749: Canada becomes British. 1763. Formation of the Dominion of Canada, 1867. Territorial rights of Hudson's Bay Company purchased, 1869; part of Northwest Territory formed into Province of Manitoba, which enters Confederation, 1870. British Columbia joins the Dominion on condition that a railway be built across the continent, 1871; Prince Edward Island becomes part of the Dominion, 1873

Canadian Pacific Railway completed, 1885.

Districts of Mackenzie, Ungava, and Franklin created, 1895.

District of Keewatin created, 1876.

west Territories, 1882.

Districts of Mackenzie, Ungava, and Franklin created, 189 Territory of Yukon created, 1898.

The four Districts of Alberta, Assiniboia, Athabaska, and Saskatchewan formed from southern portion of NorthCanada and one-i millions i (New Br half a mi hundred one-half

Province Quebec...

Nova Scot New Brun Prince Ed Ontario

British Co

Manitoba r

Eighty born ther some par century of cent of t Province They for

o Bell

St. Josep

FULL R

In Car complete are almos