the above re-

d are willing

ss like a true

cker at all

are a Fid-

drive to the

ey Hall every

at 7 p.m. for

etings, as we

unnecessary

leheaders to

e know who

mer Irving

ld gets mar-

I, whichever

G. McArthur

ly elected

and the Clan.

year and a

you for all

offset work.

aff is to be

r their hard

Sincerely,

Dobbelsteyn

nce.

IALL

OCTO

build a

welcome.

don't bring

SPORTS-

UNB honors their best athletes

Women's Volleyball - "Reds"

AWARDS PRESENTATIONS

Men's Basketball - "Red Raiders"

- Head Coach: Don Nelson 1. Manager Award
- Jeff Baird
- Trainer Award
 David MacDonald
- 2. Letter Winners Scott Nichelson
- Paul Holder - Ted DeWinter
- 3. AUAA All-Stars
- Scott Devine (2nd Team) - Paul Holder (2nd Team)
- 4. Rookie of the Year - Tony Walker
- 5. M.V.P.
- Scott Devine

Women's Basketbali - "Red Bloomers" - Head Coach: Coleen Dufresne

- 1. Letter Winners
- Marg Jones - Jennifer George
- Sue McMaster - Kathy Norman
- 2. AUAA All Stars
- Jill Jeffrey (2nd Team)
- Sue McMaster (1st Team and Freshman of the Year)
- Jennifer George (1st Team)
- 3. Rookie of the Year - Jennifer George
- 4. M.V.P.
- Jill Jeffrey

5. AUAA Championship Trophy - (L. Hull Presenting)

Cross Country - "Red Harriers" Coach: Mel Keeling

- 1. Letter Winners
- Veronica Foley
- Tammi Richardson - Greg Grondin
- Terri-Lee Damon
- Jill Jeffrey Lynn Sutherland
- 2. Peake Memorial Trophy (Top
- Kevin Hooper
- 3. Dr. R.J. Love Trophy (Race Win-
- ner) (Dr. Love presenting)
- P.J. Meagher
- 4. M.V.P. Male Runner - Henry Flood
- 5. M.V.P. Female Runner
- Margaret MacDonald

6. AUAA Championship Trophy (men and women) Art Doyle presenting.

Field Hockey - "Red Sticks" Coach: Joyce Slipp

- 1. Letter Winners
- Sharon Creelman Kathryn MacDougall
- Sharry Martin

- 2. AUAA All Stars
- **Beth McSorley**
- **Donna Phillips** Susan Grady
- Marleigh Moran
- 3. M.V.P.
- Donna Phillips
- 4. AUAA Championship Trophy -(Barry Thompson presenting)

Hockey - "Red Devils" - Coach: Don MacAdam

- 1. Trainer Award - Jeff Burkard
- 2. Letter Winners
- Steve Adams George Kelly
- Don Cameron
- **Kurt Rugenius** Mark Welton
- 3. AUAA All-Star
- Dave Mancuso (1st Team)
- 4. Peter Violette Memorial Award
- (outstanding defenseman)
- Dave Mancuso
- 5. Rookie of the Year - Mark Welton
- 6. W.W. Laskey Award (M.V.P.)
- Vaughn Porter 7. C.F.N.B. Pepsi Player of the year
- (Al White presenting)

- George Kelly

Swimming - "Beavers and Mer-maids" Frof. R. Stangroom

- 1. Letter Winners
- Kathy Inches
- Sue Verhille Chris Langille
- 2. Most Improve Female Swimmer Kathy Inches
- 3. Most Improved Male Swimmer
- Brian Smythe
- 4. Women's M.V.P.
- Leslie Eglinton 5. Gilman Leach Memorial Award
- (Men's M.V.P.)
- Roger Patterson

Wrestling - "Black Bears" Coach:

- Jim Born 1. Letter Winners
- Dave Bessey
- **Denis Mahoney**
- Ron Richard
- Gary Wilson 2. AUAA Winners
- Gary Wilson 118 lbs Brian Bessey 126 lbs.
- Denis Mahoney 149 lbs. Ron Richard 167 lbs.
- Dave Bessey 177 lbs. 3. Most Valuable Wrestler
- Denis Mahoney

- Gymnastics "Saltos" Coach: Daryll Steeves
 1. Letter Winners
- Jamie MacKinnon
- 2. Gymnast of the Year
- Rick Weiler 3. AUAA Championship Trophy

(Leroy Washburn presenting) Men's Volleyball - "Rebels" Coach:

- Rex Bolden

 1. Letter Winners
- Wayne Carson Danny MacDonald
- Keith Raynes
 2. Steve Richmond Memorial
 Trophy (Rookie of the year)
- Danny MacDonald

- Coach: Sonny Phillips 1. Letter Winners Helen Bridgeo
- Judy Burns

Women)

Brenda Johnston Cheryl Matchett

Keith Raynes

- Paula O'Brien 2. AUAA All Stars
- Alice Kamermans (also M.V.P. of the league)
- Sue Woods 3. Rookie of the Year
- Cheryl Matchett 4. Gwen Rowe Turnbull Trophy (M.V.P.) presented by Mrs. Graham - St. John Council of

- Sue Woods
5. AUAA Championship Trophy (Don Eagle presenting)

AUAA COACH OF THE YEAR -Malcolm Early - Coleen Dufresne CIAU COACH OF THE YEAR -Malcolm Early - Colson Dufresno AUAA COACH OF THE YEAR -Maicolm Early - Sonny Phillips DISTINCTIONS - Dr. William

MacGillivary All players on varsity teams are rated by their coaches at the close of the season. The ratings are "A" for outstanding, "B" for a steady, reliable athlete, and "C" for staying on the team. Athletes rated A for one year and B for 2 years of play are awarded a letter. After four years, an athlete who received at least three A ratings and one B is awarded a ring for distinction.

Chris McCabe - Basketball "Red Beth McSorley - Field Hockey "Red

Sticks' Terry Lawrence - Gymnastics "Saltos"

Dave Bluteau - Hockey "Red Devils" Kevin Rochford - Hockey "Red Scott Brogan - Hockey "Red Devils"

Vaughn Porter - Hockey "Red Leslie Eglington - Swimming "Mer-

Peter Barton - Swimming "Beavers"

Sue Woods - Volleyball "Reds"

The end of an era - Scott Devine leaves the UNB Athletic scene through graduation this year. Thanks for some great memories Scott and good luck in your future endeavours.

Soccer - "Red Shirts" Coach: Gary

- 1. Trainer Award Steve Mundle
- 2. Letter Winners
- Don Mackinnon Steven McCaig
- Ronnie Taweel Vincent Woo
- 3. AUAA All-Stors
- Joe Turpin
- Larry Courvoisier - Dwight Hornibrook
- 4. Canon W.J. Clark Award (forword)
- Greg Kraft
- (defense) - Joe Turpin
- 5. Canon W.J. Clark Award

6. AUAA Championship Trophy -(Eric Garland presenting)

ALL CANADIAN AWARDS . Malcolm Early

Donna Phillips - (tournament eleven) Field Hockey "Red Sticks" Sharon Creelman - (tournament eleven) Field Hockey "Red Sticks" Joe Turpin - (1st team) Soccer "Red

Larry Courvoisier (2nd team) Soccer

"Red Shirts" Alice Kamermans - (2nd team) Volleybail "Reds"

COLIN B. MACKAY SHIELD - Solly McAllister presenting (Female Athlete of the Year)

LABATT SHIELD - Bob Kooffe presenting (Male Athlete of the Year)

H. KENNETH CORBETT MEDAL . Malcolm Early presenting



Athlete of the year - Left to right: Joe Turpin, male athlete of the year (Labatt Shield), Alice Kamermans, female athlete of the year (Colin B. Mackay Award), Brian Flood, (Kennein Corbett Medal)