Petro-Canada Act

accept my word as a gentleman—I know he is—that I voluntarily withdrew from that subcommittee on Latin America in order to spend my time on the United Nations disarmament question. I would like that to be clear.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: The hon. member has made his point.

Mr. Dave Dingwall (Parliamentary Secretary to Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources): Mr. Speaker, I appreciate this opportunity to participate in this debate. I will be closing off the third reading debate on this particular piece of legislation, and I will say at the outset that I will be extremely brief.

I was somewhat concerned that the hon, member for Calgary West (Mr. Hawkes) should suggest that the Government of Canada is providing too much money for the operation of Petro-Canada. The hon. member for Winnipeg-Birds Hill (Mr. Blaikie) mentioned that members of the Conservative Party have not stood in the House of Commons or, indeed, in the Standing Committee on Energy Legislation and said they were against money being offered under the Petroleum Incentives Program. If the hon. member for Calgary West is so clear and so certain of his policies as they relate to Petro-Canada, then I cannot understand why he and his colleagues would not have placed a resolution before that party's policies convention which was recently held in Toronto. He did not take that step, and therefore I have to agree with others who have said that the Conservative Party's position on Petro-Canada is seven different positions, depending upon the day.

• (1710)

Mr. Paproski: You will find out after the next election.

Mr. Dingwall: When private sector companies purchase other companies, members of the Conservative Party refer to these transactions as sound economic business decisions and good investments, but when Petro-Canada takes over another company somehow that is regarded as wrong and not good business. I do not understand the rationale of that. It is important for Petro-Canada to increase its authorized capital so that it will continue to do the work we all want it to do.

The legislation before the House is an extremely important part of the government National Energy Program. During the 1980 election campaign the Liberal Party promised to strengthen and expand Petro-Canada as an instrument of energy policy. The government is committed to delivering on that promise which was formally repeated in the Speech from the Throne, and the importance of Petro-Canada was also mentioned in the National Energy Program. Bill C-101 will give effect to this particular promise, Mr. Speaker.

The bill was the subject of thorough and extensive examination in the Standing Committee on Energy Legislation. Many witnesses appeared before the committee, including officials of Petro-Canada, the committee to Canadianize the petroleum industry, Canertech, Petro Canada International Assistance

Corporation and the Canadian Federation of Independent Petroleum Marketers. The committee recommended no amendments to the bill.

I hope that members on all sides of the House will support the bill, Mr. Speaker.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is the House ready for the question?

Some hon. Members: Ouestion.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Is it the pleasure of the House to adopt the motion?

Some hon. Members: Agreed.

Some hon. Members: No.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those in favour of the motion will please say yea.

Some hon. Members: Yea.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: All those opposed to the motion will please say nay.

Some hon. Members: Nay.

Mr. Deputy Speaker: In my opinion the yeas have it.

And more than five members having risen:

Mr. Deputy Speaker: Call in the members.

The House divided on the motion (Mr. Cosgrove for Mr. Lalonde) which was agreed to on the following division.

(1720)

Allmand

Cosgrove

(Division No. 176)

YEAS

Messrs

Côté (Mrs.)

Althouse Cousineau Anguish Cullen Appolloni (Mrs.) Daudlin Dawson de Corneille Baker (Gander-Twillingate) Benjamin Demers Berger Blackburn Deniger Desmarais Blaikie Dingwall Dion Blais Bloomfield Dionne (Northumberland-Bockstael Miramichi) Bossy Dubois Breau Broadbent Duclos Dupont Burghardt Dupras Caccia Duquet Campbell Erola (Mrs.) Ethier (South West Nova) Evans Campbell Ferguson (Cardigan) Fisher Chrétien Fleming Flis Collenette Comtois Foster Fox Corbin Francis

Frith

Gauthier Gendron Gingras (Argenteuil-Papineau) Gourd (Lévis) Gray Guilbault Harquail Henderson Herbert Hervieux-Payette (Mrs.) Hopkins Hudecki Irwin Isabelle Jewett (Miss) Johnston Joyal Kaplan Keeper Kelly Killens (Mrs.) Kristiansen

Lachance

Lajoie

Lang

Laniel

Lalonde

Lamontagne