- A) Non-discriminatory access to, and use of, the basic telecommunications transport services, including: the lease of local and long distance telephone services; full period flat rate private line service; dedicated intercity voice channels; and public data services for the movement of information including intracorporate communications; the sharing and reselling of basic telecommunications services; and the purchase or lease of terminal equipment;
- B) Maintenance of existing access for the provision of enhanced telecommunications services through the use of the telecommunications transport network and computer services within and across borders of both Parties;
- C) Assurance that enhanced service providers do not benefit from unreasonable cross subsidization or other anticompetitive practices from their related monopoly service providers. Appropriate safeguards, such as separate accounting records, sufficient structural separations and disclosure shall be put in place.

The understandings will govern computer services whether or not conveyed over the telecommunications transport network.

Enhanced telecommunications services are services which are more than basic telecommunications services as defined and classified by measures of the regulators of the Parties. Greater precision, including agreed upon benchmarks, will be included in the definition.

The Parties have agreed to an understanding that recognizes the importance of developing mutually acceptable professional standards and the mutual recognition by the respective licensing authorities of professional architects. This understanding builds on the efforts of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada and the American Institute of Architects, who are in the process of recommending mutually acceptable standards regarding education, examination, experience, code of ethics, and professional development. We have agreed that upon completion of the Associations' work, we will review the recommendations and encourage adoption of necessary legal changes by the states and provinces leading to mutual recognition by no later than 1990.