years. No meetings were held after March 6th, 1852. The names of a number of prominent men were on the list of the Society's honorary members: Robt. Dunglisson, Prof. of Institutes of Medicine, Jesterson College; Dr. Graves, Dr. Stokes, Dr. Corrigan, Dublin; Dr. Marshall Hall, London; Dr. John Rose Cormack, Edinburgh, Editor London & Edinburgh Journal of the Medical Sciences; Dr. McDonnell, Dublin, Editor Dublin Medical Journal.

The next thing we hear of the Society is in 1865. A neeting of the members of the medical profession of Montreal was called by a circular signed by R. P. Howard, M.D., L.R.C.S.E.; Hector Pelletier, M.D., Edin.; W. H. Hingston, M.D., L.R.C.S.E. And in response to the call the following members of the profession assembled on Friday, July 28th, 1865, at 8 p.m., in the committee room of the Mechanics' Hall, in all twenty-three: Drs. Sutherland, R. P. Howard, Scott, Pelletier, Coderre, Hingston, Boyer, Reddy, Craik, Fenwick, Dagenais, Pickup, F. W. Campbell, Trenholme, Leprohon, Rottot, Squire, Thompson, Sabourin, Bessey, Raymond, Guerin, Hamel, Labadie, Vilbon, Gauthier, Mount, Jacques, Dubuc, Leblanc.

On motion of Dr. Howard, seconded by Dr. Scott, Dr. Sutherland was called to the chair. And on motion of Dr. Scott, seconded by Dr. Hingston, Dr. Squire was requested to act as secretary. The President then briefly addressed the meeting in French and English, stating its object, namely to organize an association for the purpose of advancing medical and surgical science in the city and province. It was moved by Dr. Hingston, seconded by Dr. Pelletier, and unanimously resolved:

"That it is desirable to form a Society for the Advancement of Medical and Surgical Science in this City and Province, to be styled—"The Medico-Chirurgical Society of Montreal." A committee was appointed to draw up regulations for the organization of the Society.

At the adjourned general meeting held on the evening of August 4th, 1865, the report of the committee on organization was presented, and the following twenty-four gentlemen, duly qualified, formed the Society: Drs. Geo. W. Campbell, Wm. Sutherland. Wm. Frascr, R. Palmer Howard. Eugene H. Trudel. Beaubien, J. Emery Coderre, J. G. Bibaud. Wm. E. Scott. Robt. Craik, Hector Pelletier, W. H. Hingston, John Reddy, J. L. Leprohon. George E. Fenwick, L. Boyer, E. Lemire, Dagenais, A. B. Laroque, Robert Thompson, Globensky, Desrosiers, F. W. Campbell, W. Wood Squire.

During the next three or four months nineteen new members were added. Of these forty-three members who constituted the new Society, all have passed away but our esteemed friend Dr. G. P. Girdwood. I