## **Geological regions of Canada**

Canada is divided into five main geological regions — the Canadian Shield, the Interior Plains, the Cordilleran Region, the Appalachian Region and the Innuitian Region.

The Canadian Shield is the country's largest physiographic feature. An enormous expanse of rock, bush and bog, it covers most of Eastern and North-Central Canada in a broad band around Hudson Bay. The Shield, which is one of the most important mining regions in the world, is primarily a source of metallic minerals.

The Interior Plains Region is a vast flatland extending west from the edge of the Canadian Shield to the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. The value of most mineral production in this region is provided by the fossil fuels group, but the production of some non-metals — potash, gypsum and salt — is also important.

The Cordilleran Region is the site of Canada's spectacular western mountain ranges, and covers most of British Columbia and the Yukon Territory. Mines in this region produce a variety of mineral products, including copper, lead, zinc, asbestos and coal.

The Appalachian Region, which lies to the southeast of the Canadian Shield, includes the Atlantic Provinces and part of southeastern Quebec. Metallic-mineral production in this region includes copper, zinc and lead. The world's major source of asbestos occurs in the Quebec sector of the region.

The Innuitian Region comprises the northern islands of the Canadian Arctic. This remote area is acquiring increasing importance, recent exploration activities having indicated extensive natural gas deposits, as well as deposits of zinc and lead.

## **Major Canadian minerals**

Nickel -

Canada is the largest producer of nickel, supplying about one-third of the world's consumption. All this production takes place in Ontario and Manitoba. The famous Sudbury Basin of Ontario — 63 miles long and ten miles wide — is the largest single source of nickel in the world.

Refined nickel is shipped from Canada to 40 other countries. Major customers are the United States, Britain and other members of the EEC, and Japan.