

The townships are not all equal in extent. The inhabitants meet for the purpose of voting money for the support of their poor, like an English parish, and the principal townships send representatives to the House of Assembly.

The county of Halifax is the largest in the province, and stretches quite across it, from the Atlantic Ocean to Cumberland Straits. east of it lies the county of Sydney, on the west the counties of Hants and Lunenburg, and on the north the county of Cumberland; the whole shore on the south is washed by the Atlantic Ocean, and a part of the north by Northumberland Straits. It is divided into three districts, and contains ten townships. The districts are Halifax District, containing the townships of Halifax, Dartmouth, Preston, and Lawrence Town; the district of Colchester, containing the townships of Truro, Onslow, and Londonderry, besides several settlements not yet incorporated into townships, as Economy, Shubenacadie, Stewiack, Tatmagouche, &c.; and the district of Pictou, containing the townships of Pictou, Egerton, and Maxwelton. The division of this county into districts seems to have pretty closely followed the natural division of the soil and face of the country. All the southern part of the county, which lies upon the