## DMEN

son Street :

et.

reet ; Miss e.

tties)—Mrs. A, President G. Wood, tral Counlent Moses s Christian anchisement Yellowlees, ang Ladies' Workers; Mrs. Edgar, , President tion.

Coad, Miss

## Local Council of Women of Toronto.

Fourth Annual Meeting

Held in the Theatre of the Normal School, June 29th, 1897, at 3 p.m.

The meeting was called for three o'clock, but as there were only seven ladies present, the afternoon being very stormy, it was decided to wait till four, in the hope that by that time other members would arrive.

At four o'clock the meeting was opened in the usual way.

There were present :-- Mrs. Dickson in the chair, Mrs. Kavanagh, Mrs. Scales, Mrs. Coad, Mrs. Grant Macdonald, Mrs. Willoughby Cummings, Mrs. Vance, Mrs. Guthrie, Mrs. Grasett, Miss Cayley.

The Corresponding and Recording Secretary's reports and the Treasurer's statement were read and adopted.

The President's address, in which much of the work done during the year was mentioned, was an epitome of the report sent to the Annual Meeting of the National Council at Halifax.

The committees on (1) Medical Aid and Nursing in the North West and Outlying Districts of Canada; (2) Immigration of Pauper Children; (3) Manual Training in Public Schools; (4) and Manual Training Classes for Teachers, were asked to consider their work completed, as some of the subjects had been taken up by the Legislature, and in others the proposed reforms were now in operation.

The following resolutions were then proposed :

1. Moved by Mrs. Cummings, seconded by Mrs. Coad : "Resolved that the retiring President and Corresponding Secretary be a Committee to arrange for the publication of the annual report." Carried.

2. Moved by Mrs. Vance, seconded by Mrs. Guthrie : "That the Toronto Local Council of Women do acknowledge with pleasure the courtesy and kindness of the Press of Toronto, for the space given to notices of its work and sessions." Carried.

3. Moved by Mrs. Coad, seconded by Miss Cayley: "That the T. L. C. of Women tender their thanks to the Hon. the Minister of