NOVA SCOTIA (44) ALMANACK.

INFERIOR COURTS OF COMMON PLEAS.

[Called "Inferior" probably because the causes tried there, were liable to be removed into the Supreme Court, by Certiorari; and "Common Pleas," because, like the English Court of Common Pleas, its jurisdiction was only in civil cases.]

Sits at Halifax, on the Second Tuesdays of March, June, September, and December.—Justices, James Foreman, John Howe, sen. and Samuel Head, Esqrs. Deputy Prothonotary, J. W. Nutting, Esq.

Quarter Sessions of the Peace—Sits at Halifax, on the First Tuesdays of March, June, September, and December. David S. Clarke, Esq. Clerk of the Peace.

EASTERN DIVISION.—Chief Justice of the Eastern Division, and President of the Court of Sessions, William Q. Sawers, Esq. (This Division, includes the County of Cumberland, Districts of Colchester and Pictou, and County of Sydney.)

County of Cumberland.—Inferior Court and Sessions of the Peace, held at Amherst, on the First Tuesday of January, and last Tuesday of June.—Assistant Justices, Thomas Roach, D. M. Farlan, R. M. G. Dickey, Robert M. Gowan, and William Baker, Esqrs. Deputy Prothonotary, S. H. Morse, Esq.

District of Colchester—Inferior Court and Sessious of the Peace, held at Truro, on the Third Tuesday of January, and Second Tuesday of July.—Assistant Justices, Thomas I. Brown, and Robert Dickson, Esqrs. Deputy Prothonotary, George Dill, Esq.

District of Pictou.—Inferior Court and Sessions of the Peace, held at Picton, on the Fourth Tuesday of January, and Third Tuesday of July.—Assistant Justices, Hugh Denoon, George Smith, Robert Lowden, A. McCara, and William Mortimer, Esqrs. Deputy Prothonotary, James Skinner, Esq.

County of Sydney.—Inferior Court and Sessions of the Peace, for the Upper District, held at Dorchester, on the First Tuesday of May, and Third Tuesday of October.—Assistant Justices, John Cunningham, and Benjamin Ogden, Esqrs. Deputy Prothonotary, Alexander M'Donald, Esq. M. D.

Inferior Court and Sessions of the Peace for the Lower District, held at Guysborough, on the First Tuesday of May, and Third Tuesday of October.—Assistant Justices, Joseph Marshall, and Robert Hartshorne, Esqrs. Deputy Prothonotary, Wentworth Taylor, Esq.

MIDDLE DIVISION.—Chief Justice of the Inferior Court of Common Pleas, and President of the Court of Sessions, Thomas C. Haliburton, Esq. [This Division includes the Counties of Hants, King's, Queen's, and Lunenburg.]

County of Hants.—Inferior Court and Sessions of the Peace, held at Windsor, on the First Tuesday of January, and First Tuesday of July. Assistant Justices, William Shey, John Elder

NOV.

Benj. Shillitto, F County of K held on the Seco vember.—Assist William A. Chi Prothonotary, S

County of Qu held at Liverpoo Tuesday of Octo seph Freeman, Ja Prothonotary, J.

County of Lux Peace held at Lu Second Tuesday of G. Miller, and E. J Ernst, Esq.

WESTERN DI of Common Pleas, Ritchie, Esq. [Th and Shelburne.]

County of Ann Peace, held at Ann First Tuesday of N of July, and Third! E. Morton, C. U. J Prothonotary, E. C

County of Shed Peace, for the Dist Pecond Tuesday of Moreon Tuesday of Moreon Filage, on the First Fourth Tuesday of Secole, Henry G. Fari Van Buskirk, T. Crow Monotary, M. H. Hi

COUNTY OF CAI Court of Common Ple ohn G. Marshall, Esq Inferior Court and S ict, held at Sydney, ourth Tuesday of Oct in the Second Tuesday er; and for the West lussday of April, and ustices, Thomas Cra listrict. Clement Hu sqrs. Southern District egnard, Esq. Sydne